Lemon and Thyme Chicken Rolls

24 Apr

This recipe from Taste is one of my favourite chicken burger recipes. I consider it a cheat meal, but looking at the calories and macro breakdown, it’s not actually that cheaty. If I subbed chicken breast it would almost be a regular meal if not for the woeful vegetable content.

The other times I’ve made this I haven’t grilled the Turkish bread. Which was a huge mistake. I grilled it this time, and it was like a whole different species of bread. I don’t know if it absorbed some chicken flavour from the grill, or whether the heat brings out some inherent flavour in the bread, but it was heaven. I’ve never been one to get all hyped up about bread – to me it’s normally a vessel for other, more interesting food. But the slightly charred, smoky (but still soft) bread was so perfect that I think it was almost my favourite part of the meal.

And when the other parts include chicken, avocado, baby spinach and aioli, that’s saying something. (Oh also I can never be bothered making aioli, so I just add garlic and lime juice to mayo. Hey presto, instant aioli). The roll was tangy and delicious, the sauce dripping between my fingers as I ate. I scarfed this so fast I gave myself hiccups.

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken thigh fillets, trimmed
  • 2 tablespoons thyme leaves
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 lemon, rind finely grated, juiced (I used lime because I prefer it)
  • 4 Turkish bread rolls, split
  • 50g mixed salad greens
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/3 cup aioli or whole-egg mayonnaise
Method
  1. Combine thyme, lime rind, oil and 1/4 cup lime juice in a dish. Season with salt and pepper. Add chicken and turn to coat. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  2. Barbecue chicken thighs 3-4 minutes on each side
  3. Grill bread rolls until slightly charred
  4. Arrange salad greens on roll bases. Top with avocado, chicken and aioli. Cover with roll tops and serve.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 roll: 609 calories, 59% fat, 15% protein, 26% carbs 

4 Responses to “Lemon and Thyme Chicken Rolls”

  1. whatsaysyou April 24, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    They would make a perfect meal for lunch or snack with tea

  2. Deeba @ PAB April 25, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Love the flavours here…very refreshing!

    • pamperedhousewife April 26, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      I agree. You just can’t go wrong with lemon/lime, chicken and aioli!

Leave a Reply

