The Hunt For Aeron

21 Apr

Happy (belated) birthday to me!

image from Herman Miller

After many years of coveting the Aeron, I finally got it for my birthday this year.

It was actually a surprisingly elaborate hunt. I knew Living Edge sold it for $1430, but I definitely didn’t want to pay full price. My research showed that most people were getting it for around the $1300 mark, but some were able to get it for $1100 if they went in on a group buy. So James and I decided that we would be happy paying $1200, but would go up to $1300.

I had a play with the different sized chairs – I’m borderline between the A (small) and B (medium) sizes, so I decided to get the B so James can also sit in it. He prefers the Embody, though he also finds the Aeron very comfortable.

But – the horror! Living Edge would only go down to $1375! They were cheaper online – Sit Back and Relax has them for $1249, plus I could get 9.6% cashback via Buckscoop, which brought it down to $1129, so with shipping it would be well within the target range.

But then we had to buy the dishwasher, and I felt guilty buying an expensive chair in the same week, so I held off. And it’s a good thing I did, because I saw this today:

Awesome, awesome, awesome! This is a phenomenal deal (relatively speaking).

I called Living Edge to make sure it came with the adjustable armrest, posture support and tilt limiter – basically all of the features that are on the chair in the showroom. She said yes, so this afternoon we drove back to Living Edge and ordered my chair! (Sorry about the spots – I took this photo the first time we went to Living Edge, and it was raining)

My Aeron should arrive in a week and a half. I spend so much time at my computer that it’s totally worth buying something a bit luxurious to sit in. And I have the warm, fuzzy feeling of knowing that this is the cheapest I could have gotten the chair. Like seriously, it’s cheaper than ordering it from the US and paying shipping. The sales assistant said that the lowest she was normally authorized to go was $1140 (which incidentally, is much lower than the $1375 the other sales assistant offered it to us for). I would have been spewing if we’d paid $1375, and then a few weeks later seen this sale!

James: if that first lady had offered it to us for $1250 we would have bought it. They got greedy.

Worked out well for us though. =) I (will soon) have my lovely chair, and am filled with happy bargain feelings.

2 Responses to “The Hunt For Aeron”

  1. joanium April 22, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    We have Mirra chairs at work. It’s nice but I need to get it about 3 cm taller and to bring the back in. I’ve adjusted it as far as it can go. It’s not quite there.

    • pamperedhousewife April 23, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

      Ooh yeah we tried the Mirra, but I preferred the Aeron. You should try the Embody if you can, that was James’ favourite. It was very comfy, but REALLY ugly!

Leave a Reply

