Hoisin Chicken with Spiced Couscous

20 Apr

This recipe from Taste. I modified it a little, using broccoli instead of asparagus and chicken thighs instead of breasts. I also ran out of five spice powder, forgot the sesame seeds, and only had 1 cup of couscous. Oh yeah, and I cut the peanut sauce down to 1 tablespoon since I was using a fattier cut of chicken.

It was tasty, but it’s not getting added to the regular (or even occasional) rotation. If something is carb-heavy, it has to be pretty freaking awesome for me to make it again. I definitely don’t need a meal that’s 50% carbs when I’ve drastically cut back my exercise (though I rebelled against my physio and did some squats. Ha!)

I poured all of the leftover sauce on the couscous, but I don’t think it’s necessary. Hoisin is pretty flavoursome and I think there was enough clinging to the chicken that I didn’t need extra.

Incidentally when I was doing the calorie count and macro breakdown for this, I found that calorieking thinks that 2 florets of broccoli (45g) is a serving. Surely that can’t be right? Though if it is, and other vegetable servings are similarly puny, I’m easily hitting my goal of 7+ vegie servings a day.

Speaking of serves, this recipe says it serves 4. Based on James going back for seconds, I think it’s actually 3 serves, but I’ve counted it as 4 anyway.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (500ml) chicken stock
  • 1 stalk broccoli, cut into small florets
  • 1 carrot, cut into matchsticks
  • 1 cup couscous
  • 1/2 tsp five-spice powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 TBSP peanut oil
  • 4 chicken thighs
  • 1/3 cup (4 TBSP) hoisin sauce
  • 1/4 cup (3 TBSP) honey
  • Squeeze of lime juice
  • 2 cups coriander leaves
  • 2 TBSP toasted sesame seeds
Method
  1. Bring 1 1/2 cups (375ml) stock to the boil in a saucepan and add broccoli, carrot and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Return to the boil and cook for 1 minute. Place couscous in a bowl with spices. Pour stock mixture over couscous and stir to combine. Cover while you cook chicken.
  2. Meanwhile, heat oil in a frypan over medium heat. Cook chicken for 2-3 minutes each side. Add combined hoisin, honey and remaining 1/2 cup (125ml) stock to pan. Bring to a simmer and continue to cook chicken, basting with sauce, for 5-6 minutes or until cooked through, then slice chicken thickly.
  3. Fluff couscous with a fork. Add lime juice and most of the coriander and stir to combine. Serve chicken and sauce with spiced couscous, sprinkled with sesame seeds and remaining coriander leaves.
Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve: 421 calories, 20% fat, 22% protein, 58% carbs
Leave a Reply

