Bacon and Egg Roll

16 Apr

This is my version of the bacon and egg roll, and it shits all over the Red Hill one. I didn’t even try to make it super fancy by adding stuff like sauce or fried onions, though I did add some avocado for colour. It cost around a quarter of the Red Hill one and tasted much better, and was ridiculously simple to make. I originally made it with 2 eggs, but that made it a bit eggy. 1 thick rasher of rindless bacon, 1 egg, some avocado, plus salt and pepper. Easy!

Poor James got food poisoning in Sydney (I was going to say “caught food poisoning” but it’s not contagious. Maybe I should have written “James was food poisoned “). We’re not entirely sure if it’s food poisoning or a stomach bug, not that it matters. James was a bit worried that if it was a stomach bug I might get it, but I have a crazy strong immune system. I haven’t been sick in about two and a half (maybe three?) years.

I’ve been taking care of James since Wednesday evening, and when I made this on Friday morning it was the first meal he ate with gusto. Actually, I lie. I’d bought him a borek from the Vic Market, and that was the first meal he ate with gusto. Then he said he was still hungry so I made him this roll after I saw him sneaking peeks at mine.

Bacon and eggs would have had a better macro breakdown, but there’s something about stuffing everything into a roll. Maybe cos you get to cradle it in your hands like a soft little hamburger.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 roll: 469 calories, 50% fat, 19% protein, 31% carbs 

7 Responses to “Bacon and Egg Roll”

  1. Kalo April 18, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    i ate a borek on sunday 🙂 they are awesome… but they don’t compare to the bratwurst at vic market… which i ate before the borek

    • pamperedhousewife April 18, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      I want my brat with cheese and onion, and I’m not paying 50c each (it’s 50c right? I can’t remember) for like .. half a cent worth of cheese and onion. ><

      Also James said the brat is messier to eat than the boreks.

  2. Kalo April 18, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    80c each now whihc is silly but overall its still under $10 for a sizeable meal… i get everything + horseradish & heaps of tobasco… just soooo good *drool*

    boreks are awesome… but that bratwurst is one of melbournes true culinary stars, i seriously put it above a lot of the meals i have had at 2 hat & 3 hat restaurants for pure enjoyment

  3. xguard April 18, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I got dossier for you Kaye, you know your friend who came in for a free roll, she’s level up now. Jane, Janine or Jacquie?

    • pamperedhousewife April 18, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

      Ohh yeah, she got her blue after the Vics I think. =)

      Any goss from the Classic? I read on Robin’s wall that some ex-GZ guy (I’m guessing the Simon guy that everyone hates) made a spectacle of himself. Give me details!

  4. xguard April 18, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Well, instructor got tapped out by this big dude in the open in less than one minute and he cried to his blackbelt coach whom went and complained to the ref to get the decision reversed about the big dude slamming instructor, we were all there, def not a WWE slam or nothing illegal.

Leave a Reply

