Jogging

13 Apr

It used to be that when I saw a guy and a girl jogging side by side I’d think “aww that’s nice, they’re exercising together”. And one day I commented on a jogging couple to James and he was like “when you see a guy and a girl running together you know the guy is slacking off”.

Now I can’t look at jogging couples without thinking that the guy is being slack. Stupid James, now it’s ruined.

But anyway, I’ve started running a bit these past few days – though sometimes I have to stop early because my arm starts aching. I hate running. But it’s one of the few exercises I’m allowed to do for the next 3 weeks. No BJJ, no deadlifts, no squats (Tim doesn’t want my arms supporting the weight on my back), no upper body, no nothing. My shoulder improved with rest, so no magical steroid injection, but for the next month I’m sitting around not doing anything. I tried filling the fitness void by baking, but that was just a double whammy – not exercising and eating terribly.

I’m trying to avoid shopping too much, since we have some big purchases in the near future ($1200 for my Aeron, and $2000 for a Miele dishwasher since our crappy Whirlpool is on its last legs).

I regret not buying a Miele right off the bat. The Whirlpool was $700 (or $900?) and we also spent about $500 fixing it a year ago. That’s $1200, not to mention the fact that we’re going to have to buy a Miele anyway. Buying cheap things is false economy. Unless it’s stuff you only use a couple of times, like evening dresses.

That’s how I’m trying to see training – doing upper body stuff and BJJ now would be like false training. I’m making the rotator cuff tear worse, and not fixing the underlying problem, which will just crop up again anyway. But if I take a couple of months, I can hopefully repair fully and rebuild my strength, and be better than I was before.

It just really sucks. One guy at the gym last night did like 100 “sit-ups” with the freaking ab-sizer. I was filled with irrational annoyance at the thought that he probably had a fully functional rotator cuff.

So yeah, I’m doing my rehab exercises and just trying to think of this as a rest week month.

5 Responses to “Jogging”

  1. Ormi April 13, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    I think James’ comment is a bit unfair (and a bit sexist).

    All other things being equal, your average man _may_ be fitter/faster than your average woman, but it’s (obviously) entirely possible for the woman in a jogging pair to be fitter than her partner.

    • pamperedhousewife April 13, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      I did bring that up, but then he said that the woman was slacking.

      • Ormi April 13, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

        At the risk of being entirely too pedantic about this:-

        There are still those couples whose fitness levels are sufficiently similar that they can run at the same pace and both be challenged.

        Even where this is not the case, there are benefits to jogging “below capacity” in order to stay level with your partner, particularly where (as is likely to be the case) one person is less interested in jogging/fitness in general than the other.

        Most people are really bad at sticking to any sort of diet or exercise regime whatsoever, so stripping out any available social benefits in order to increase efficiency is often self-defeating.

        It’s better to jog companiably with the fitter partner restraining his/her pace than to have the slower partner lose heart and bail on the activity entirely, especially as this will usually demotivate the fitter partner too!

  2. xguard April 13, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Not training with weights would truly sucks, but at least running is still training.

Leave a Reply

