Red Hill Market

11 Apr

A couple of weekends ago James and I visited his parents in Shoreham and also dropped by the Red Hill Market. We started the morning off with some freshly made scones ($3 for the plate). They were incredible – slathered with jam and cream, and still warm from the oven.

Later that morning we also bought some lemon tarts ($1.50 each) and a canele ($3). The tarts were awesome – the lemony flavour was so intense, and the canele was like a cakey creme brulee. If you ever drop by the Red Hill Market I highly recommend grabbing some of these.

I also bought a lavender wheat bag ($12) since my shoulder had been aching pretty badly that weekend. No picture of it though.

For a late morning snack James bought an egg and bacon roll (can’t remember how much – probably around $6).

I wasn’t really that impressed. I could easily make a tastier version at home with better quality ingredients for a fraction of the cost. It’s just a couple of bacon rashers and a fried egg chucked in a white roll.

I did like our later snack of fried calamari from The Flying Calamari Brothers ($12.50). I liked their stall sign.

James got disposable chopsticks to eat them with, but I opted to eat with my hands. I regretted my decision once we got to the bottom since I couldn’t reach in deep enough, but James took pity on me and fed me the little fried bits from the bottom.

The last purchase of the day was passionfruit yo-yos ($6.50 I think). These were a bit meh … I’ve had (and made) better yo-yos. Last time we were here I bought yo-yos from a different stall holder – they were inside a small tin building near the playground, and I thought those were better. It could be that I just don’t like passionfruit yo-yos though.

We also ran into Kim and Adrian, and had a brief chat with them. It would have been a lovely market, except when we got back to the car we could see that the loooooooong line of cars parked at the side of the road all had parking tickets. It was a no-standing zone, but there were like 50-100 cars parked there, so we’d assumed it was some local tradition (like how they always bring unleashed dogs on the beach even though it’s not technically allowed and everyone turns a blind eye because dogs on the beach are awesome).

So yeah, $120 lesson learned. We probably won’t go to the Red Hill Market for at least a few years, until I stop feeling bitter (which will be never). I’ll get my fix from Daylesford or Healesville next time.

4 Responses to “Red Hill Market”

  1. Kalo April 12, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    LMAO…”$120 lesson learned. We probably won’t go to the Red Hill Market for at least a few years, until I stop feeling bitter (which will be never)”

    yes, i guess you really are chinese

    • pamperedhousewife April 12, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      They shall no longer receive my valuable yo-yo dollars!

      • Kalo April 12, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

        wen refers to all business owners as ‘greedy merchants’

      • pamperedhousewife April 12, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

        I am certain that ties back to her Shanghaiese-ness.

Leave a Reply

