Peanut Brittle

7 Apr

This recipe from Allrecipes has been in my favourites folder for awhile. I love peanut brittle – it has that super peanutty taste without the icky mouthfeel of peanut butter. I’d look at the recipe longingly from time to time, but my local Woolies and Coles don’t stock light corn syrup. Well the other day I found it (oddly enough) at my Asian grocer. Now nothing would stand in the way of me and delicious, delicious peanut brittle.

And it was soooo worth the hunt. The recipe is ridiculously simple, but the end result is pro-looking (and tasting). If I had bought that peanut brittle instead of spending like … $2 and a few minutes of my time, I would not be disappointed.

I’ve been constantly sneaking bits of brittle, which is terrible because I’m on a physio-imposed rest week, and really can’t afford the extra calories. Though I recently found out that if I bring something tasty and put it next to James, he will eat it.

AHAHAHAHAHAA!! I did it just then! I put the brittle down, he looked at it for like, half a second, then ate it. He’s like a puppy!

OK he figured out what I was doing because I kept laughing to myself.

But anyway, make this peanut butter brittle. It’s easy and you won’t regret it.

The recipe is written for someone with a 700W microwave, which conveniently, is how powerful my microwave is. If you have a more powerful microwave you’ll probably need to do some trial and error to get the time right.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups dry roasted peanuts
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 pinch salt (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

Method

  1. Grease a baking sheet, and set aside. In a glass bowl, combine peanuts, sugar, corn syrup, and salt. Cook in microwave for 6 to 7 minutes on High (700 W); mixture should be bubbly and peanuts browned. Stir in butter and vanilla; cook 2 to 3 minutes longer.
  2. Quickly stir in baking soda, just until mixture is foamy. Pour immediately onto greased baking sheet. Let cool 15 minutes, or until set. Break into pieces, and store in an airtight container.

The recipe says that it makes 16 pieces, so that’s how I went with the nutritional guide. But I just basically broke it into randomly-sized pieces.

 

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 piece: 173 calories, 42% fat, 8% protein, 50% carbs

Leave a Reply

