White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies

31 Mar

Last week James brought me some leftover Subway cookies from his airport dinner. I was hankering for a snack, and those cookies were perfect!

So yesterday I decided to make my own white chocolate and macadamia cookies, and searched online for something that might recreate it. A lot of people recommend this recipe from Allrecipes, so I decided to give it a shot.

Unfortunately the cookies were a bit meh. I think a few things went wrong – the first batch came out too dark so I readjusted my oven, but that just resulted in cookies that were too soft. They came out puffier than I would like, and I didn’t chop the nuts enough so there are some unpleasantly large chunks of macadamia in there. And in general I think there should be more white chocolate and less macadamia. But I’ve never really been a fan of macadamia – it’s so expensive and such a bland nut.

The recipe isn’t bad – it’s just when I remember how awesome that Subway cookie tasted, this one didn’t even really come close.

The recipe made about 5 dozen cookies. I made them fairly small though.

There was another recipe on Allrecipes that had brown sugar, which should result in a crispier cookie. I might give that a shot.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 225 g white chocolate, chopped
  • 180 g macadamia nuts, chopped

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 190C
  2. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Stir in the egg and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt, stir into the creamed mixture. Finally, stir in the white chocolate and nuts. Drop cookies by heaping teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet, about 2 inches apart.
  3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, until lightly browned. Cool on wire racks. When cool, store in an airtight container.

 

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 cookie: 119 calories, 52% fat, 5% protein, 43% carbs

8 Responses to “White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies”

  1. Kalo March 31, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    i can’t believe you just called macadamias a bland nut?! and then said that white chocolate is better than macadamias?!!!?

    i am going to choke you

    • pamperedhousewife March 31, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

      It SO is a bland nut! I ate one and was like “well that was a waste of the calories”

      Go pecan!

      • Kalo March 31, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

        cashews & pistachios >>> macadamias >>> all nuts

        pecan pfffffffffffffft

      • pamperedhousewife March 31, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

        You, sir, have terrible taste in nuts. Cashew, pistachios and macadamias as possibly the WORST nuts. They don’t taste like anything! They taste like air!

  2. xguard April 1, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I had 2 and boy it was paradise.

    • Cat April 1, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      Pistachio = win

    • pamperedhousewife April 1, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      Glad you guys liked them! =D

      James is also pleased they’re gone – when they were downstairs he kept eating them, and now there is nothing left to tempt him.

      • pamperedhousewife April 1, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

        You are not my sister.

        Although there is a pistachio cake with rosewater icing I’m kind of intrigued by.

Leave a Reply

