Tom Phat

30 Mar

Tom Phat
184 Sydney Road Brunswick

James’ colleague from Optus, Hussam, and his family were visiting Melbourne for the Grand Prix, and wanted to have brunch with us. They were staying in Fawkner, so I suggested we go to Tom Phat on Sydney Rd, which has been on my to-do list for awhile.

Hussam and his wife were lovely, and they really really loved Melbourne. (James said that yesterday at work, Hussam was gushing about how awesome Melbourne was, and his boss got worried). They said they like the cafe culture of Melbourne, and how the houses are more affordable. They asked about house prices in the Fawkner area, and luckily Cat had been looking in North Coburg so I actually had some stats handy!

But anyway, to breakfast!

James got his usual long black to begin with. I didn’t take a photo of it. Though if any coffee manages to topple Seven Seeds from the top of his list I’ll take a picture. I ordered a Coffee Craze ($6.80), which was on the online menu (which apparently is a bit out of date) and not on the regular menu, but they still made it. I don’t know why I thought I would like it – I don’t drink coffee! Thankfully James was a big fan, so I gave it to him.

(Sorry all my shots are kind of crap. We were right up the back and it was really dark there)

James ordered the fried viet eggs ($9.90). He said they were nice, though he wasn’t wowed.

I felt kind of bad because my order of the roti omelette (12.90) was indescribably better. So. Much. Better. I can see why it was the Cheap Eats 2007 Breakfast of the Year (yes I am somewhat behind the times). It’s so different from Melbourne’s regular breakfast offerings, but still noticeably breakfasty.

It had bacon, chives, and a tomato salsa that definitely had fish sauce as one of the ingredients. And it was huge! I kept giving bits of it to James because I felt bad (he also wanted the roti omelette but I told him I’d bagsed it first) and I was still full afterwards.

Looking around, the roti omelette seemed like the dish to order – almost every second or third person had one.

I’d like to go back – maybe for lunch – I was intrigued by the chilli jam noodles. If we went back for breakfast, I would totally grab the roti omelette again, and this time I would let James have one too (sorry James!)
Tom Phat on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “Tom Phat”

  1. Wen March 30, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    haha…we will try this place soon!btw…Fawkner is much cheaper than Coburg!!!but its a bit further though…

    • pamperedhousewife March 30, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      Fawkner is similar to North Coburg isn’t it? Cat was looking at this really awesome house in North Coburg that I loved:

      http://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-vic-coburg+north-107100475

      If only it were in North Melbourne (but then the price would be double) =(

      • Kalo March 30, 2011 at 11:15 am #

        that place is incredibly close to our house actually (like under 1km) yeah fawkner and coburg north are right next to each other, fawkner is always cheaper though

      • pamperedhousewife March 30, 2011 at 11:19 am #

        You guys should have bought that one! Then I would stand outside and stare in creepily.

        I thought it would sell for a lot more than it did. The owners put a lot of work into the reno, but Cat and some other guy were the only bidders. Bidding went up to 600k, passed in, and then it was up for private sale at 635k.

  2. Cat March 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    I like my future house better (plus the land is bigger!). North Coburg house was beautiful but there wasn’t much storage and everything had already been done! I’m looking forward to building up the garden/re-doing the bathroom of my place when I move in =)

    • pamperedhousewife March 30, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      Yes, your future house was a suspiciously excellent deal. We may find that it was built on an Indian burial ground or something.

      I will help you do up the garden, and I will pat my chicken.

      Also all the names I come up with are for guy chickens. I was going to call mine Silky Joe. Silky Joanna just doesn’t have the same ring to it.

      • Cat March 30, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

        are you choosing a crap layer for me?!

      • pamperedhousewife March 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

        It doesn’t have to be a Silky to be called Silky Joe!

Leave a Reply

