Thomas Keller’s Favourite Simple Roast Chicken

28 Mar

This has been my go-to roast chicken recipe for awhile. It’s so easy and results in a perfect, juicy bird. (And using the oven on cold days results in a lovely warm apartment)

See that chicken butt? Aaaages ago when I first came across this recipe, Thomas Keller wrote that it was the “cook’s reward” (though I misremembered it as the “chef’s reward”). So slice off that butt before anyone else can – it has an awesome skin to juicy, juicy meat ratio.

Ingredients

  • 1.3kg free range chicken
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tsp minced thyme (optional)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 230C.
  2. Rinse the chicken, then dry thoroughly with paper towels, inside and out. The less it steams, the drier the heat, the better.
  3. Salt and pepper the cavity, then truss the bird (I never truss and it still works out fine – though I do kind of tuck everything together)
  4. Salt the chicken (about 1 TBSP). When it’s cooked you should be able to make out the salt baked onto the crisp skin. Season to taste with pepper.
  5. Place the chicken in a roasting pan and place in the oven. Roast until done, about 50-60 minutes.
  6. Remove from the oven and add thyme, if using, to the pan. Baste the chicken with the juices and thyme and let it rest for 15 minutes.

Thomas Keller recommends slathering it with butter and mustard, but I just leave as-is. He also recommended a simple salad, but I went with steamed broccoli, beans and zucchini.

I found a 1.3kg chicken made about 4 servings, but it could just be that James and I eat giant portions. I’ve seen those budget eating websites, where people are like “I make a roast chicken to feed my family, then I make chicken sandwiches with the leftovers” and I’m like .. buh?

But anyway, go and make this chicken. It. Is. Delicious. I always give up on the knife and fork and just shovel it into my mouth with my hands. And I also rub it on the vegies so the vegies taste all salty and chickeny. (Why yes, I do eat like a pig when nobody is looking)

One Response to “Thomas Keller’s Favourite Simple Roast Chicken”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thomas Keller’s Favourite Simple Roast Chicken (via Diary of a Pampered Housewife) | My Grandparent's Kitchen - March 29, 2011

    […] Thomas Keller’s Favourite Simple Roast Chicken (via Diary of a Pampered Housewife) Posted on March 29, 2011 by My Grandparents' Kitchen This has been my go-to roast chicken recipe for awhile. It’s so easy and results in a perfect, juicy bird. (And using the oven on cold days results in a lovely warm apartment) See that chicken butt? Aaaages ago when I first came across this recipe, Thomas Keller wrote that it was the “cook’s reward” (though I misremembered it as the “chef’s reward”). So slice off that butt before anyone else can – it has an awesome skin to juicy, juicy meat ratio … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

