Simon’s Peiking Duck Chinese Restaurant

22 Mar

Simon’s Peiking Duck Chinese Restaurant
197B Middleborough Road Box Hill South

On Sunday evening Cat and I took mum out for her birthday meal. I’d been meaning to try this place for awhile, since I heard that this was the Old Kingdom guy’s new restaurant, and I do love me some Peking duck.

Cat and I even have a Peking duck song. It only has one line, and that line goes “I am peeking at your peeking Peking duck (peeking Peking duck, peeking Peking duck)”. And when you say “peeking Peking duck” you kind of bob up and down a bit. When I was waiting for mum on Sunday afternoon I went into the study where James was, and bobbed up and down a few times. James was like “are you mentally singing the Peking duck song?” (yes I was)

But anyway, while the places around Simon’s were pretty much empty (or doing a lackluster takeaway trade) Simon’s was absolutely packed – not a spare table in the house. Mum was pretty shocked because it was a Sunday, which is normally dead.

When I made the booking I was asked how many ducks would be required, and since it was just the three of us I just got one duck. It was just right for me, mum and Cat, but I reckon for big eaters you would either want to order some extra dishes, or just get an extra duck and be really full afterwards.

Here is the pancake. Looks homemade, very impressive. Cat and I really liked the pancakes here – they were super thin but also very strong. I’ve taken the photo on a bit of an angle, but if the pancake is a clock, then the cucumber and spring onion are at 3:00.

The duck and sauce get layered on top. Then apparently we fold 6:00, then 12:00, then 9:00 to wrap the pancake. There’s a reason the owner is called the Peking duck Nazi!

Mum was really impressed with the owner, Simon. She liked how he went around and chatted with all the tables. She kept looking at him, I think hoping that he would come back and chat to us again. She also said he was cute, but I don’t want to think about that.

The duck was excellent, and I really loved the sauce that came with it. I don’t know if it’s because I was really hungry that day (accidentally skipped lunch due to the excitement at the Vics) but the duck and sauce just tasted especially vibrant.

The duck meat that didn’t come with any skin was turned into a stir fry. You could choose what type of noodle to have with it, and we chose hand-pulled noodles. The second course was a bit meh for me, but I suspect anything would suffer in comparison to that lovely flavoursome duck.

Last of all was the duck soup, made with the bones and any leftover bits of meat. This was very light, but full of flavour.

Mum and dad are always really picky about Chinese restaurants, and this and Hutong have both gotten the thumbs up from them. I think mum will return here because she took a takeaway menu with her (though the menu was just your standard suburban Chinese takeout menu).

It cost $67 for one duck (if you go for a less premium second course there is a cheaper option on the menu) which is very reasonable for 3 people. Though if you are big eaters and get the second duck, suddenly it becomes a bit less economical!

The duck was definitely worth the trek out to Box Hill. If I lived in the area I would come here a lot more often! I don’t know if it’s the best Peking duck in Melbourne – that seems like a big claim – but I haven’t had a better duck in recent memory, and it passed the mum test, so two enthusiastic thumbs up!

Simon's Peiking Duck Restaurant on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Simon’s Peiking Duck Chinese Restaurant”

  1. xguard March 22, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Montage, Wen and I went there one night to celebrate their new kick ass house and boy the ducks were awesome.

  2. Kalo March 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    it is the best duck in melbourne, in fact i have eaten at supposedly the best peking duck restaurant in the world (in beijing) and simons is better than that…

    • pamperedhousewife March 22, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      Yes I think I will have to take James there. He loves Peking duck. I’m pretty sure we can polish one off between the two of us!

      Cat and I will probably also take dad there for father’s day. /nods

Leave a Reply

