BJJ Vics

21 Mar

Well I won my straight final at the Victorian State Championship. =) I wanted to win by submission, but at least the score was 11-0, which meant I didn’t give anything up.

My opponent came at me a lot harder than I was expecting, which freaked me out! I was chatting to Kate at the Vics, and we talked about how neither of us are naturally aggressive, and we get really flustered when our opponent is. (Rob always tells me off for laughing and being too casual) You can see in the video that I lose position at the start, but then I get it back.

Also the mat is a lot more slippery than the one I’m used to. It’s hard to drive into someone when your feet keep slipping!

 

Things I’m happy with

I always fight to get on top now. I’m strong and fast, and with someone my own size I should win every scramble.

Sweeps. I thought I was shit at them, but now I’m wondering whether it’s just the weight difference between me and everyone else that prevents me from getting them in class. I hit a few sweeps at the Vics and also the Pan Pacs last year. I didn’t even know what I was doing (since I never get them in class during rolls) but I could feel their balance was a bit off so I just kept driving with my hips.

Things I want to work on

I want to get one or two really solid submissions and work on setting those up consistently. My defense is good but my attacking is sloppy, because I very rarely get to practice it. Some of the more experienced guys let me practice subs on them, but getting a proper sub is different from getting one on someone who was always going to give it to you.

I still think I’m too reactive. I don’t know what I want (because I don’t have my go-to subs), so I just react to what my opponent does.

I need to make the time count. 5 minutes always passes by so fast.

Takedowns. Man I suck at those.

 

10 Responses to “BJJ Vics”

  1. xguard March 21, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Happy Birthday and enjoy your cheat week, we will see you soon.

    • pamperedhousewife March 21, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

      Thanks Stan! I’ll probably still train most of this week – I’ll just be eating like a pig too! =D

  2. Kalo March 21, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    you did fkn great, excellent control and feel for the fight… need to clean up some stuff but thats what comps are for anyway to show us our gaps 😉

    project kaye is a massve success!!

    • pamperedhousewife March 21, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

      Thanks Kalo, couldn’t have done it without your wise Kwailo ways. I want to fix a lot of stuff before I even think about getting my blue!

      • Kalo March 21, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

        you hav eno say in when or why you get your bleu Kaye, none of us do… and NO-ONE thinks they are ready when they get their belts

      • pamperedhousewife March 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

        I talked to Rob tonight and he said he’s not convinced at my blueness yet. I’ll get some more comp experience at the classic on April 16th, and hopefully patch up some holes in my game, see how I go!

      • Kalo March 22, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

        its rob’s call of course, i think you’re pretty much ready but wtf do i know

  3. xguard March 21, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    hey guys, just watch the video, apparently the action was too fast for the camera, it is awesome. It’s gotta be like 200 fps or something~

  4. shakiaharris July 20, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    i think you did good, and yes believe me the women are a million times more aggressive than the men will ever be, it’s a weird thing to anticipate but good luck with your next tournament

    • pamperedhousewife July 20, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      Thanks so much! I’ve been sidelined with an injury, but can’t wait to try a little more aggression on the mat!

Leave a Reply

