Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Cookies

9 Mar

You know, I should really determine the calorie content of snacks before I make them. It’s very easy to eat 5 cookies in a go, but a bit heart-stopping once you realise those cookies were equivalent in calories to a giant rib eye with vegies falling off the plate.

But sometimes nothing but a cookie will do, and for those times there are peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies. I found the recipe for these cookies on this blog, and they totally hit the spot.

I’ve made these before without the chocolate chips, and I think I prefer them without. Or if I did decide to make them again with chocolate chips, I’d go milk instead of dark.

I can’t remember exactly but I think it made about 4 dozen cookies. Which is way too many for just me and James, so I took a bunch of them to BJJ. God bless hungry boys.

Ingredients
  • 1 1/4 cups plain flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup (113g) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg + yolk of another egg
  • 1 TBSP milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
Method
  1. Preheat oven to 175C.
  2. In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl beat the butter and peanut butter together until fluffy. Add the sugars and beat until smooth. Add the egg and mix well. Add milk and vanilla extract, then flour mixture, and beat thoroughly. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  4. drop by rounded spoonfuls onto baking paper, leaving room in between for expansion. Do not overly flatten cookies.
  5. Bake for 10-12 minutes.
  6. Cool cookies on the tray for 1 minute, then remove to a rack and cool completely.
Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 cookie: 115 calories, 51% fat, 7% protein, 42% carbs
2 Responses to “Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Babygirl March 9, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I simply love chocolate and peanut butter in anything and this cookie recipe definitely sounds delish! I can’t wait to try this recipe out. Thanks for posting this.

Leave a Reply

