OMG … Still Injured!

7 Mar

This sucks so hard. My back has been pretty stiff for a few weeks now, and I must have injured it again on the weekend because I was in agony today. =( I don’t know what I could have done to cause it – I had gym on Friday (nailed my 62.5kg x 5 squat, and my 65kg x 5 deadlifts!), did an aerobics class late Saturday, and light gym on Sunday. I woke up at like 5am and couldn’t get back to sleep until 8am.

The muscles in my back keep spasming – it’s not painful or anything, but every so often I can feel my back kind of … flutter. Creepy.

I went to Mind Over Muscle for a massage. Matt wasn’t in today, but once Tim heard how desperate I was he offered to do the massage himself. During the massage he kept marveling at how stiff my back was. “Like a brick!” he said. =(

He wants me to rest it for at least a couple of days. But I keep reinjuring it, and he’s not sure about what’s causing this sudden onset of back crapness. It’s only a couple of weeks until the comp, and I am so frustrated at this run of injuries. I’m tossing up the idea of letting myself heal fully and then just focusing on the Pan Pacs. I mean, I love getting the opportunity to fight people my size, but I hate the idea of competing when I’m not ready (and continuing to injure myself to try and get ready), even though it’s just a silly white belt fight.

And since I’m injured and computer-bound, I’ve had a lot of time to browse the net. I love this leather jacket by Rick Owens but probably wouldn’t wear it enough to justify the fairly hefty price tag.

image from Net-A-Porter

image from Net-A-Porter

(oh dear God, those leggings.)

James: Do you want the jacket instead of the chair for your birthday?
Me: Nah, I’ll get more use out of the chair. Maybe for another present one day in the future.
James: Christmas?

Jamesy is so sweet. =D But no, I thought maybe I could save it up for an important birthday. Or maybe if we ever move to a cold climate.

Being injured is so shit. It makes me depressed, and when I’m sad I start shopping. I remember when Ben told me that I couldn’t do any lower body exercises for a few weeks I started crying a little (not like … sobbing, but I started tearing up). And I don’t think Tim could tell on the phone, but when I called a week ago to book a massage (this was after I got stacked in BJJ) I was also crying a little bit.

So much of my self-identity is wrapped up in being fit and strong and healthy, in being able to make my body do what I want it to (except cleans. Stupid technical lift) that when I’m injured I lapse into a bit of a funk. I’m sure I’ll feel better tomorrow – I managed to wheedle Tim into letting me go to the gym as long as I don’t do any lifts that target the lower back – but in the meantime … (imagine me looking at the computer screen and sighing pathetically).

3 Responses to “OMG … Still Injured!”

  1. xguard March 8, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    you used the word “wheedle”, haven’t heard that word used since High School days, awesome. Vocabulary FTW

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Rick Owens Splurge … | Diary of a Pampered Housewife - February 10, 2014

    […] wanted this jacket for aaaages (proof – and check out that foreshadowing: “I thought maybe I could save it up for an important […]

Leave a Reply

