Caramel Chicken

28 Feb

I’m always looking for new ways to eat chicken, so Almost Bourdain posted a Bill Granger-inspired Caramel Chicken recipe, I knew what I’d be having for dinner this week.

It didn’t begin well – I thought I could skip oiling the chicken, but that resulted in chickenflesh getting stuck to my pot. Don’t skip oiling the chicken.

I was a bit wary of the dark soy sauce, since I’ve had disastrous results with it in the past but the richer taste of the dark soy is perfectly balanced by the brown sugar. The end result is very moist and tasty. It’s actually quite densely flavoured, so every bite was like “whoa”.

I’m so proud of this chicken creation – even though I desperately want to finish it all, I’m forcing myself to save some for James when he gets back from Sydney on Wednesday. He will sit there, eat my lovely chicken, and smile admiringly at me.

This photo is a bit misleading because as soon as I realised how tasty the chicken was I went straight back to the pot and spooned a couple of ladles of the sauce over the green beans.

Then instead of using a separate plate to store my beans I just dumped my leftover beans into the chicken pot and put everything in the fridge. I’m looking forward to my saucy chicken and green beans tomorrow. I may also cook some mushrooms and zucchini to increase the vegetable portion, and any leftovers will also get added to my lovely chickensauce pot.

The recipe serves 4, though if you’re a light eater it could stretch to 6.

Ingredients

  • 8 chicken thigh fillets, chopped in half
  • 1 TBSP vegetable oil
  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, sliced
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup dark soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup fish sauce

Method:

  1. Place the chicken and oil in a bowl and toss to combine. Heat a large frying pan over a high heat until hot.
  2. Add the chicken, in two batches, and cook for 2 minutes on one side until lightly brown, turn and cook for another minute. Remove from the pan.
  3. Reduce the heat to medium and add a little extra oil if needed. Add the onion and garlic and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Return the chicken to the pan, sprinkle liberally with black pepper, add the soy sauce and stir to combine.
  5. Cover the pan, reduce heat to low and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  6. Increase the heat to high, add the sugar and stir to combine.
  7. Cook uncovered for 3-4 minutes, or until the sauce is rich, dark and syrupy.
  8. Add the fish sauce and stir to combine.

 

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve: 344 calories, 27% fat, 36% protein, 37% carbs

Leave a Reply

