At Least I’ll Always Have Squats

24 Feb

Injuries/BJJ

Injuries suck. I was doing my rotator cuff rehab wrong and (I think) that messed up my lower back. I don’t have much range of motion through my back now, and certain movements really hurt it.

Tonight at BJJ there was a near-scare. I was rolling with a big white belt, and not really attacking, letting him take the initiative, but he was putting his weight on me and doing that thing that white belts do where they just grab your wrists and won’t let go. So I escaped, re-guarded and started choking him. He was making that cool sound where you know the choke is on, but then he stacked me to escape and my back was like aaaarrrgh!

Normally I’m flexible enough that stacking isn’t a big deal, but since I can’t move my back properly at the moment it was painful and I ended up yelling out. And then Rob didn’t let me roll with him anymore. I hope the guy doesn’t feel like he injured me – it was my fault for trying to roll like I was at 100%. My neck is feeling pretty stiff now too – the way it does before it seizes up for a couple of days (dear neck jelly, please don’t be injured! I’m supposed to go crabbing this weekend!).

This is bad – this should be my prep time for the Vics, but I’m not spending it grappling like I should be.

Gym

In some good news though, I’m finally back up to a 62.5kg x 3 squat. After my final set (50kg x 8), Gregor, one of the gym instructors was like “great squats!” Then I heard him and Tom (enormous gym regular) arguing, and Tom was like “I can squat more than my bodyweight too!”  Gregor sort of gestured at me and was like “yeah, but with that depth?”

So, so pleased.

Yesterday I followed back squats with pistol squats where I jump out of the bottom. Well at the moment it’s a teeny tiny bunny hop, but eventually I’ll be leaping out of it.

I miss doing upper body work, but Tim the physio has promised me that with my new improved shoulder I’ll be able to lift more.

Diet

Diet is getting better. This is what I’m having for breakfast and lunch:

Mountain bread with smoked salmon, baby spinach, cucumber, carrot, and greek yoghurt. Omnomnom.

That looks less vegetably than it is – the smoked salmon is actually sitting on a big pile of spinach. Also you can see my oven mitt in the background. Hello oven mitt!

 

3 Responses to “At Least I’ll Always Have Squats”

  1. xguard February 25, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    heard that yelling, was worried. Did you end up giving awesome tips to that new chick?

    • pamperedhousewife February 25, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Taught her a little bit about getting out of back control – I find it comes in handy a lot lol!

      My back and neck are super stiff today. =( I’m going to call my physio and beg for an appointment.

      • Kalo February 25, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

        i wouldn’t bother, just rest it, heat packs + hot bath and REST

Leave a Reply

