My Dream Garden

17 Feb

One day, after mum and dad have retired and moved into the Reservoir house I’d like to renovate the garden and install a rainwater tank. It’s such a big garden and it’s gone criminally un-used. They could do some basic garden tending, and I would drop by once a week to help them with the harder stuff. I’ve been researching it so much, and it sounds so exciting that I’ve almost convinced myself that I want to move to the suburbs and have an orchard, vegie patch, and chickens.

The Reservoir garden would be nice with a chicken coop. The neighbors already have chickens – I know this because I saw them running through the garden when I was inspecting it with the real estate agent.

If I had chickens they could live in this Nogg chicken coop:

image from Nogg

Cat has promised me that when she moves into her (yet to be bought) investment property she will have chickens and I can choose and name one of them. I originally wanted to get a Silkie (those fluffy white ones with the ridiculous pantaloons) but found out that they’re not actually good egg-layers – they’re brooders, which means they like to sit on other chickens’ eggs.

James: to get good use out of their pantaloons no doubt

But then I read about chickens some more, and someone was talking about how chickens hate it when you remove their eggs. She said that you shouldn’t reach in from behind or else the chicken might deliberately shit on you. And sometimes even if you go from the front the chicken will turn around and deliberately shit on you. And sometimes the chicken will clamp down and deliberately break her eggs so you can’t get to them, and she’ll sit there smugly in her own eggy shitty filth.

Even so, I was pestering James via email about chickens yesterday. He wasn’t at his computer, but I was injured and filled with newfound knowledge.

4:04pm Kaye: oh [embarrassing pet name deleted]! I want chickens!
4:17pm Kaye: The real estate agent just called and said that someone has said they may make an offer around the 850k mark. But we definitely don’t want the property at anywhere near that price. Chickens chickens chickens!!
5:28pm Kaye: Cat is going to have chickens one day and she said she would let me name one of them =)
5:46pm Kaye: You finished work yet? Maybe I can convince your parents to buy chickens!
5:49pm James: Why is my inbox suddenly being spammed with chicken-want?

But anyway, once mum and dad have moved into the house I’d like to hire these guys to do a re-design of the backyard. From their website:

A permaculture inspired design can save you time, money, energy and water.  We can design your property to suit your combination of skill level, time and budget. We work with the soil types, solar aspect, wind directions, plants and existing structures to produce attractive designs which won’t just feed you with minimal effort, they’ll cool your house in summer, let light through in winter, while minimising the water and nutrition requirements of your garden!

For $330 (min) they’ll design the garden for you, but you can pay more for a more detailed design. They can also do the project management from crappy lawn to finished garden, which is handy because I’m fairly useless at this sort of stuff.

There are these really cool designs on their website, where they’ve planted guava, olive, apricot, hazelnut, plum, peach, cherry, lemon, orange, mandarin, macadamia, avocado and almond trees. Awesome.

That is my one regret at living in an inner city apartment – that we can’t make our place really sustainable and green, and I can’t have my own garden and chickens. I’ve seen places where it could be possible, but obviously a nice chunk of land in North Melbourne isn’t going to be cheap. But if we have a nice garden in Reservoir I would be able to pot around in it and mum and dad would have lots of food and a beautiful garden to look at. =) It’s probably not tax-deductible because it would be an improvement rather than a repair, but it would help get better rent in the future. =) And who knows, maybe one day when James doesn’t need to be close to the CBD anymore we could retire there and the cats could be free range. If that were the plan though, I would probably also install solar panels when mum and dad moved in.

In the meantime I will live vicariously through Cat’s (future) garden and chickens.

5 Responses to “My Dream Garden”

  1. Kalo February 17, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    you have too much free time

    • pamperedhousewife February 17, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

      Yeah mum keeps telling me to have kids to soak up all that free time. I think she will be less than satisfied with chicken-grandkids.

  2. Kalo February 17, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    we are getting puppies, kids are lame 🙂

    • pamperedhousewife February 17, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      Oh awesome, what puppies?

      I like whippets and staffies. =)

    • xguard February 17, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      Kalo, you should be on Sherdog, flame war!!

Leave a Reply

