Crazy Aldi Man

12 Feb

Yesterday at Aldi I was picking up some burrito essentials. I was wheeling my trolley and this crazy hobo guy (I’m not just saying that – he looked scruffy, wore a beanie, and his sole purchase was a bottle of booze) cut in front of me and stopped, so I accidentally hit him with my trolley. I gave a quick, cheery “sorry!” – even though it wasn’t my fault >< – but crazy hobo man gave me a death glare and kept walking.

So I looked around in that wow, did anybody else see that? way, and met the gaze of a girl who looked back at me in a whoah, I totally saw that! way.

At the register I ended up behind him, and he started slamming things around. I remember thinking “I bet he’s glaring at me”, and then dismissing the thought as kind of paranoid. I unloaded by trolley without looking at him, but out of the corner of my eye I could see that he was facing me. Then when I looked up he actually was glaring at me. He’d been slamming stuff around and glaring at me!

I was quite annoyed at getting glared at by some dickhead, especially since I figured all the slamming was intended to intimidate me. So I glared back at him, and after a couple of seconds he looked away. And I’m thinking .. oh score! I won!

After he left I was chatting to the nice Asian checkout guy:

Me: That guy in the beanie was so creepy
NACG: What happened?
Me: *explains*
NACG: He starts fights in here all the time. He’s crazy. Don’t even look at him, because he will start something. That guy is crazy.
Me: *pays, grabs bags and says goodbye*
NACG: *calling out after me* Don’t even look  at him!!!

Oops. Maybe not such a good idea to glare at the (apparently violently) crazy hobo man.

Maybe it’s the same guy who punched Ormi in the boob outside Aldi several years back, causing him to forever boycott the store.

Ormi said that he thinks the guy was trying to punch his face, but Ormi is pretty tall, so all the attacker got was boob. And the guy was drunk, so his blow just glanced off. Also he probably looked a little less like an old timey sailor.

Though I’m quite pleased at winning the glare war, if I see that guy again I will be very careful to avoid eye contact (don’t even look at him!!) lest I too get boobpunched.

5 Responses to “Crazy Aldi Man”

  1. Kalo February 12, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    wen says to choke him out

    • pamperedhousewife February 12, 2011 at 10:33 am #

      James says I am too small. =(

      Did you guys know that he gets Ormi to walk me home from the gym? I’m all like .. maybe you need ME to walk ORMI home from the gym!

      • Ormi February 13, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

        Hey, to be fair, I freely admit that in the event we were attacked by random thugs, you would do much better than me.

        But you don’t LOOK like you would do better, being all tiny and petite, whereas I’m all tall and semi-imposing. And given that the object of the exercise is to discourage any random thuggery before it begins, it’s how things appear that is important 😛

      • pamperedhousewife February 13, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

        That’s true, you do have the height and imposing broad shoulders to discourage attackers!

  2. xguard February 14, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    omg, this is actually pretty funny, but the most important fact is that you are okay Kaye. The drawing is almost like an anime!

Leave a Reply

