Fitness Update

7 Feb

New Gym Program

I have kind of decided on my new gym program. It’s very similar to the old one, I’ve just moved some exercises around and added some extra squats. I was originally skipping out on front squats, but Nic told me that they’re important if I want to do cleans. He said that all the squats I’m doing are good exercises, but if I have to drop any of them it should be overhead squat. And there’s no way I’m getting rid of overhead squats because I love them.

Tuesday

  • Back squat
  • Pistol (one-legged) squat (I have to jump out of it to make it harder)
  • Overhead squat
  • Explosive push-ups
  • Hanging leg raise
  • Glute-ham raise
  • L-sits

Friday

  • Deadlift
  • Bench
  • Front squat
  • Hanging leg raise
  • Inverted Row

Sunday

  • Cleans
  • Pull-ups
  • Dumbbell snatch
  • Glute-ham raise

My cleans are coming along, but I need to pull myself under the bar more. It’s not a very intuitive motion for me and I feel completely unco doing it.

I’m so jealous of James, who is strong enough to do some awesome bodyweight exercises at the gym, like body levers, and L-sit pull-ups. He does L-sit pull-ups on Sundays, and I always try to look supportive, but inside I am seething with envy. Seething.


BJJ

Kalo has been helping me heaps this past couple of weeks, and I finally have some semblance of a game plan! It’s not a plan I can enact most of the time, but it gives me something to strive for, and even just going for it opens up different options.

Jess said that my side control is actually really good. She said that she never felt threatened by me on top, but she couldn’t escape either. So now I need to be more aggressive about hunting submissions. She also called me tough! =D

I have to make myself pass more, so I can get to side control. The next couple of weeks I’m going to grab some small newbie guys and just practice sweeping them and smashing through their guards. To an extent I’m wary about pairing up with small newbies – they always have 10-15kg on me, and their control isn’t as good as the more experienced guys. Sometimes if the guy is particularly spazzy I spend the whole time trying to keep myself uninjured. So my defense is quite good, but defense doesn’t win competitions.

I don’t even really have a desire to win the Vics or Pan Pacs, but I want to do it for all the people who’ve helped me. I have something like 5 weeks to get in competition shape! Jess was saying that she feels that people have a regular game and also a competition game. And a regular game can be technical and fun, and playing off your back, but at a white belt level your competition game needs to be more aggressive, more focused on submissions and racking up points.

To an extent I don’t fight as hard as I can in scrambles, because I’m more comfortable escaping than I am attacking. That’s something I totally need to fix. This week my brain is going to be all Up! Up! Up! and Pass! Pass! Pass! Physically it’s a lot more exhausting trying to pass and get on top than it is being underneath and escaping – maybe that’s why I’ve avoided it until now. Once I’m on top though, it’s lovely. I could nap there.

 

Food

Whenever I train hard I have to eat really well. It’s a feedback loop, because if I’m eating crap I don’t have the energy to exercise, and if I’m not exercising I don’t have the motivation to eat well. When my diet is perfect (or near-perfect) I’m like the energizer bunny.

I have some cheat meals planned for this Saturday (breakfast out with James, and yum cha with dad and Cat) so I’m being extra careful this week. At this stage I have to force myself to eat enough because lean protein + vegetables is filling and surprisingly low in calories.

I’ll have to make some super healthy meals on the weekend, because James will be eating nothing but takeout this week in Sydney. I am fretting.

6 Responses to “Fitness Update”

  1. Kalo February 8, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    head above your hips, hips low, force half guard and control with your grips

  2. xguard February 8, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Wow, this gives me fuel for my kettlebell attack tomorrow. I will do it in the harsh Russian snowstorm osu.

  3. James February 8, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    I ate a whole Pizza for dinner just then!

Leave a Reply

