House Hunting …?

6 Feb

James and I are currently looking at a 3 bedroom place in West Melbourne. It ticks all of our must-have boxes except for air conditioning, but it has a ceiling fan. I want to inspect it in hot weather, because according to the map the main windows face West. We currently face West and on super hot sunny days it can get unbearable. And without blinds or air conditioning? We are definitely wary.

This room is probably the main worry. It felt pretty stuffy as soon as we walked in, but in all fairness it was a very brisk day and I think most homes would have felt a bit overwarm.

Nothing wrong with the kitchen. I want a larger kitchen than we currently have and a separate dining area because I’d like to invite people over for meals more. I think I would rock a dinner party.

Oh hello gorgeous, sweeping layout. James is not a fan of the spiral staircase because he banged his foot on it. I’m actually hoping that the spiral staircase (which is super narrow) will deter the cashed up baby boomer segment of the market. Not to mention couples with (or planning) kids and fat people.

There is also an awesome rooftop deck, and heaps of storage. The rooftop deck pretty much obliges you to host NYE parties. It’s great imagining hosting parties here, but then I always remember that I hate cleaning up afterwards. Also this place would be a total bitch to clean.

Floorplan:

It’s currently rented out and a bit worn for it, but I’m trying really hard to overlook the problems with it because I love the design so much. There is some fairly significant water damage to the windows in the living area. Plus I bet a space that big is a bitch to heat and cool. And it has a couple of extra bedrooms that we would never, ever use. We were thinking that one could be a guest room, and that way we could host our friends when they visited from overseas, or put up our parents if they needed to stay overnight in the city. Maybe the other could be some sort of storage room for masses of toilet paper and soft drink?

Holy crap. Holy crap.

James just suggested that we could mat out one of the bedrooms and turn it into a BJJ training room! (He also said he could put rock climbing holds on the walls and turn the perimeter into a a bouldering route but I was less excited about that).

The bank will lend us the money but it’s a matter of how comfortable we are with going into that much extra debt, especially since we’re only a couple of years away from being mortgage-free. But James doesn’t want to stay in this apartment forever, and I’ve loved the style of this building ever since I saw a listing for 23/1 Flagstaff lane 5 years ago. I even saved photos of it to my computer!

I’m going to another inspection to see how the apartment feels in warmer weather. I’m trying to not get too excited about it, because I do suspect we’ll do the sensible thing and not buy it. We haven’t even decided whether we’d keep this apartment or sell it. One option we did toss up was to buy the West Melbourne apartment and rent it out, using the opportunity to make some much-needed repairs while it’s tax deductible.

But anyway, it’s fun to look at apartments and it gives us a much more concrete idea of what features we’re after when we do upgrade.

2 Responses to “House Hunting …?”

  1. joanium February 6, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Dinner parties! Buy the flat so that I can come to your dinner parties!

    We also have a third bedroom, which I’m assuming will become a walk in wardrobe for me.

    • pamperedhousewife February 7, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      Is it too much space though? When I walked in I was like “wow!” but then my next reaction was “this is waaay too big for us”.

      I would be OK with 3 bedrooms, but 3 bedrooms PLUS a study? That’s huge!

Leave a Reply

