This Drawing is for Kalo!

3 Feb

I have titled it: The Sad Lament of the Egg

Yesterday for Chinese New Year there was a bottle of wine on the table. The adults each had a tiny bit, but basically that one bottle lasted 13 people the whole night. And that was only because James drank half of it once he realised the adults weren’t going for any more.

James: In my family, for special dinners we’ll go through 5 bottles between 8 people
Me: You know, they were probably expecting to take home half that bottle. We were going to save it for next Chinese New Year

Also, the butt of one of the lions (I think the red and gold one) at our CNY dinner knew my cousin Jon.

So when the lions paraded past us you could hear the butt half going “pst! Jon! Hey Jon! Jon!”

Even though I’m not really a fan of the traditional CNY banquet (especially since there were several bug sightings that night!), it was good to catch up with the cousins. Happy CNY to everyone!

6 Responses to “This Drawing is for Kalo!”

  1. Kalo February 3, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    LMAO… you’re just mad i speak better chinese than you! i bought wens dad a few bottles of wine when we went over and expected us to drink them at dinner or something, by the tiem we left (after like 5 dinners together?) there was about a half a bottle gone and i had drunk 95% of that… he was still lecturing me on how i drank too much as well

    • pamperedhousewife February 3, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

      Please! I will make a phone call to my parents one day at BJJ and you will WEEP with eggy despair at how much better my Chinese is than yours!

  2. Wen February 3, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    relax you both!!! I am definitely the winner in this regard….so no more fighting and argument!;-) I am happy to be your tutor Kaye ha…you can return the favor in teaching me BJJ…..Happy rabbit year!xo

    • pamperedhousewife February 3, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      OK, Wen is number one, but I am DEFINITELY number two!

      Gong Xi Fa Cai!

  3. xguard February 4, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Kalo always drink all the alchohol. geez

    • pamperedhousewife February 5, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      White people always drink heaps! Chinese people don’t tend to drink so much because we go red really quickly.

      My sister took my cousin to a party once. My cousin had a couple of sips of a UDL – her face went BRIGHT red and she had to sit down for awhile.

Leave a Reply

