Donna Hay’s Salsa Verde Lamb Skewers

1 Feb

Since we have a lovely barbecue (/pats Weber lovingly) it seemed a travesty to not grill something up for Australia Day. I wanted to try a new recipe though, so I hunted around until I found this Donna Hay recipe.

It was supposed to serve 4, but we only barbecued half of the meat, reserving the rest for another day.

Fresh off the barbecue. You can see the steam!

This recipe was tasty, but 1 cup of oil is pretty excessive (1929 calories!) so I don’t think it will make it to my regular rotation, though I am willing to experiment further with lamb backstrap. The smaller pieces were definitely more tender, so next time I barbecue lamb backstrap I’ll cut everything up smaller.

I served it with mushrooms on a bed of rocket salad. I find that as long as I stick to a lean(ish) protein plus a whole bunch of vegetables for meals, my everyday diet is pretty good without a lot of effort. I need to drop another 2kg before the Vics, so I should probably start optimising what I eat.


Salsa Verde Lamb Skewers

  • 1 cup mint leaves
  • 1/2 cup flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • 2 tablespoons chopped rosemary leaves
  • 4 anchovy fillets, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 cup (250ml) olive oil
  • 1/2 cup (125ml) lemon juice
  • sea salt and cracked black pepper
  • 4 x 220g lamb backstraps (boneless loin), cut into 3cm pieces
  • Lebanese bread and lemon wedges, to serve
  1. Place the mint, parsley, rosemary, anchovy, garlic, oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper in the bowl of a food processor and process until roughly chopped.
  2. Place in a large bowl with the lamb and toss to coat. Place in the fridge to marinate for 23 hours.
  3. Preheat a char-grill pan or barbecue over medium heat.
  4. Thread the lamb onto skewers and char-grill or barbecue for 68 minutes, turning occasionally, for medium or until cooked to your liking. Serve lamb skewers with bread and lemon wedges.

 

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
(rougher than normal since the calorie counter didn’t have lamb backstrap so I substituted another loin cut … and obviously a lot of the oil gets discarded so IMO the calories and fat content have been waaaaay overstated)
1 serve: 890 calories, 71% fat, 28% protein, 1% carbs

Leave a Reply

