Breville Slow Cooker: The Flavour Maker

18 Jan

I currently have my eye on the Breville Ikon Slow Cooker (RRP $199.95).

I do have an existing slow cooker but it’s only a 3 or 4 litre one, so when I make my Thai beef cheeks it keeps overflowing, and now there are all these burned-on bits in the inner layer.

The Breville Ikon Slow Cooker is 7 litres, but the main draw for me is the EasySear pan, which lets you sear and slow cook the meat in the same pan. The beef cheeks and also some stews I make require pre-searing in a separate pan, so this would save on washing and seal in all that yummy crusty goodness.

As slow cookers go, this is pretty pricey, but I think it would be worth it, especially considering how often I use it. The cheapest I’ve found it is $167 plus $9.95 postage from PowerBuys but since I don’t need the slow cooker urgently I’m going to wait for a 10-15% sale off small appliances at Myer. That way I can also use a gift card that has some stupid amount left on it, and also get my Myer One points.

Leave a Reply

