Girly Day At Mecca Cosmetica

16 Jan

On Saturday, I went to Mecca Cosmetica at Doncaster Shoppingtown with Cat and Ivanna for a make up lesson. I only really have one make-up “look” that I’m confident with, so I wanted to play around with a different look. The lesson was $150, but redeemable for products.

It was so much fun catching up with Cat and Ivo, and having a play with all the make up. The MUA would do one side, then get you to do the other side, and she would guide you in what you were doing wrong, so it was very instructional.

The lipstick that the MUA chose for me was a lot darker than I’m used to (my regular lipstick is the very nude, understated MAC Viva Glam V) – as she was applying it I was like “eh, I’m not so sure about this lipstick” but everyone else loved it. Then after I got used to the darker colour I ended up loving it too!

I didn’t realise there was that much of a difference at the time, but the photos show a pretty big difference between before and after. We all look much more polished, less tired, and gratifyingly, we all have much bigger eyes (apparently the trick to big eyes is darker make up at the outside corners – if you have dark colours on the inside it makes your eyes look smaller and narrower).

Cat ran into some work friends after she had her makeup done, and without knowing about the makeover, they both commented on how great she looked. Scott told Cat that it’s not a good idea to wear make up all the time, because then that becomes your default setting, and when you don’t wear make up, people think you look crap.

Anyway, Ivo had the first makeover. She wanted some help making her face look less round, and I think the contouring (Nars Laguna bronzer) made a huge difference. I think the brow pencil also had a big impact, since her brows are naturally very fine, and the darker brows gave her eyes much more impact. She ended up buying the Dr Brandt primer and Stila foundation. I can’t remember what the name of the foundation was, but it gave a medium level of coverage, and seemed a very good match for her face.

After that was Cat. The MUA covered half of her face with a tinted moisturiser by Chantecaille, and the difference was amazing! One half was normal face, and the other was much smoother and evener, and the application was very easy! I was such a huge fan of the tinted moisturiser that I requested the same one for my makeover. She ended up buying the tinted moisturiser and a concealer by Ellis Faas, which she also loves.

I had a different MUA from Cat and Ivo. I wanted a feminine look, since I pretty much only wear make up for weddings and fancy events. I normally resist blush because my cheeks get pink very easily, and if there is blush on top of that I end up looking a bit red. So the MUA picked a lovely, natural blush that is close to colour my cheeks get when they are flushed.

Sorry about the photo; I was noob and my head isn’t in exactly the same position. Also the lighting is a bit funny – I didn’t actually lighten a couple of shades during the makeover.

This is what the MUA used on me.

Face:

  • Primer – Stila one step primer
  • Tinted Moisturiser – Chantecaille Just Skin in Glow
  • Concealer – Nars Custard
  • Blush – Nars Penny Lane
  • Highlight – Stila Kitten

Eyes

  • Primer – Nars primer
  • Cream Shadow – Nars Mykonos
  • Shadow on the lid – Nars Nepal
  • Shadow on lash line – Nars Ondine
  • Eyeliner – Stila smudge pot in Bronze

Lips

  • Balm  – Mecca lip deluxe
  • Lipstick – Nars Fast Ride

I ended up buying the Mecca brand lip balm ($25), Chantecaille tinted moisturiser ($94) and Stilla smudge pot ($42). Cat really liked my smudge pot so my MUA gave her a very generous sample in the black. I also loved the Nars lipstick and blush, but Australian make up prices are double what you pay in the US, so I figured I’d buy the rest overseas.

It was surprisingly difficult, since Beauty.com and Sephora don’t ship to Australia. Luckily I found Kiss and Makeup, who stock Nars and ship for $10 worldwide.

I also loved the eyeshadows that were used – they were all lovely golden colours – but I just bought the Natural Eye palette from Skin Store, so I’ll see what gaps there are in my eyeshadow then. The Natural Eye palette is filled with gorgeous, wearable colours, and is $35 USD (though Skin Store have 20% off at the moment) with $14.95 shipping:

image from Too Faced

The whole day was so much fun, just playing around and seeing what worked on me. There were a few colours that I absolutely would not have picked for myself, but ended up loving. Cat liked my lipstick so much that she wants to buy one too, and she said that she preferred my eye makeup. The technique was essentially the same, but I think my colours were a bit more natural, which she liked.

I was also inspired to start taking better care of my skin (it’s super dry even though I drink heaps of water) so I made a big purchase at Paula’s Choice. Hooray for a fun day of being super girly!

8 Responses to “Girly Day At Mecca Cosmetica”

  1. seguementation January 16, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I like you better without that makeup but I’m glad you had fun. 🙂

    • pamperedhousewife January 16, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      Let this be on the record:

      Me: Do you think cat and ivo look better in their afters?
      James: *nods*
      Me: … just not me??
      James: *sheepish smile*

  2. Kalo January 17, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    i like blog posts about weightlifting and jiu jitsu… i actually and 14% less man because i read this one

    • pamperedhousewife January 17, 2011 at 9:00 am #

      Kalo: Eew, Wen, I think this post is for you.

      • Wen February 3, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

        For someone who spends 1 min to do “make up” everyday…sorry Kaye..this is not for me;-)…I didn’t even recognise any of the brands you were using…:S:S

      • pamperedhousewife February 3, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

        Haha that’s alright! I don’t normally wear make-up either, but I’ve had a lot of weddings to go to this year and wanted to look nice. =)

    • xguard January 17, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      good one Kalo!

Leave a Reply

