Barefoot Contessa’s Indonesian Chicken

13 Jan

Unfortunately my regular chicken store was closed over Christmas and I had to go to one of the crappy stalls in the main food hall. I say crappy, because when I unwrapped everything, all the chickens smelled like chlorine. The smell lingered even after washing everything. I swear, I’m still getting occasional wafts of chlorine from my kitchen, and each time the smell fills me with renewed bitterness.

A quick googling suggested that all chickens are put through a chlorine bath, and this was nothing unusual (or poisonous). My regular chicken place doesn’t have deadly-smelling chickens, so I don’t know what to think about that.

I normally roast my chicken very simply – some salt and maybe a sprinkling of thyme – to bring out the delicious chickeny flavour. But I thought a heavier sauce for the possibly suspect meat was in order, so I went with the Barefoot Contessa’s Indonesian chicken, which basically seems like chicken teriyaki.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup minced garlic (8-12 cloves)
  • 1/2 cup peeled and grated ginger
  • 2 x 1.5kg chickens, quartered, with backs removed

Method

  1. Cook the honey, soy sauce, garlic and ginger in a small saucepan over low heat until the honey is melted. Arrange the chicken in 1 layer in a shallow baking pan, skin side down, and pour on the sauce. Cover the pan tightly with foil and marinate overnight in the fridge.
  2. Preheat the oven to 175C.
  3. Place the baking pan in the oven and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover the pan, turn the chicken skin side up, and raise the temperature to 190C.
  4. Continue baking for 30 minutes or until the juices run clear when you cut between a leg and thigh.

 

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
Just the sauce (no chicken): 981 calories, 1% fat, 6% protein, 93% carbs

Leave a Reply

