First Week Back

12 Jan

Injury Update

I’ve been taking it easy at BJJ, first because of my neck, and now because of my knee. It’s been sore since my two runs over the Christmas break, and the physio says there’s no exercises I can do to speed up recovery, it’s just a matter of resting. I can’t remember exactly what’s wrong with it, but I remember him using the words “cartilage” and “meniscus”.

Believe me, I am cursing those two runs – I don’t normally run, I find it very tedious, but everything was closed over Christmas so I guilted myself into going. I could actually feel my knee aching, especially during my second run, but because I am an idiot who doesn’t listen to her body I kept going.

The physio said that because of my foot type, I’m one of the few people he would not recommend barefoot running to. I have “soft” feet – my arches are collapsed and he said that I need the support to stop my whole leg twisting, and the twisting is what caused my knee to stuff up. So it’s either no running (yay!) or if I do want to run I need supportive shoes (boo!)

My knee still aches a bit after BJJ, but I’m pretty sure it’s getting better – as of this morning it has stopped hurting when I wake up in the morning. Which is good news, because the physio said that if it didn’t improve I might have to temporarily cut out deep squats. Which would be annoying since I have three types of squat as part of my weight training (back, overhead and pistol).

Training Update

This is my first week back at BJJ. I feel a lot more sluggish and have forgotten a lot of stuff. Hopefully it will come back with some more training!

Gym this week was better than last week – I did 3 60kg squats, but needed a little bit of assistance for number 4, and 5 was awful – I was good-morning-ing the weight on the way up.

I stole a milk crate from mum and dad to put upstairs so I can use the hangboard that Andrew and James installed. Hopefully I will use it more now, since previously I needed James to lift me up. The milk crate isn’t very attractive – I put a picnic rug on top to stop it digging into the soles of my feet, and that has prettied it up somewhat. Every time I walk into the bedroom I’m going to do a pull-up.

Diet Update

I’m slowly moving out of holiday mode and improving my diet. I’m probably at about 5 serves of vegetables a day, not quite the 7 that I wanted – it’s hard at the moment since the current offering at the Vic Market is very blah (and I think pricier than normal because of the floods).

For lunch today I had a small chicken breast with this enormous heap of green beans and salad – I feel crammed with protein and vitamins.

I’ve added a hardboiled egg every day for the protein. I don’t really care for hardboiled eggs, so eating it is a thoroughly disgusting display where I cram it into my mouth as fast as possible.

If I’m not 49kg in a month I’ll probably start tracking my calories again. I’m hovering around 50kg so I’m not particularly worried.

 

6 Responses to “First Week Back”

  1. xguard January 13, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Running is bad for you, time for Kettlebells woohoo.

    • pamperedhousewife January 13, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      I do snatches with some dumbbells, that’s like using kettlebells right? =D

  2. Kalo January 13, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    dumbbells >> kettlebells

    • pamperedhousewife January 13, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

      You going to have a gym at your new place Kalo?

      • xguard January 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

        Boo Kalo Boooooooooo! KB for the win!!!

  3. Kalo January 14, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    i will have free weights & a chin bar kaye, no garage so no gym

Leave a Reply

