Back to the Gym

8 Jan

The physio finally gave me the OK to start doing some light weight training. Which of course meant that I went back to the gym and tried to lift my old maxes, which was a pretty bad idea given that:

  • I haven’t trained for 3 weeks
  • It was a 34 degree day and the air con at the gym was busted (Bikram weight training! Woo!)
  • I’m supposed to be recovering from injury

I’ve definitely lost some strength, but it wasn’t as terrible as it could have been.

Squat – my top set went from 62.5 x 3 to 60kg x 1

Deadlift – top set went from a solid 62.5 x 8 to struggling with 60kg x 5

Parallel Grip Chin-ups – went from sets of 5 to struggling with 3 and 4

Dumbbell Bench – was at 17.5kg for 5×5 and dropped to 17.5kg for 3×5 (and I stopped because my arm collapsed on the 4th set and James had to rescue me)

I’m thinking of tweaking my program and splitting squats and deads. This is the preliminary outline:

Tuesday

  • Deadlift
  • Explosive push-ups
  • Pullovers
  • Pistol squats
  • Inverted Row

Friday

  • Squat
  • Parallel grip pull-ups
  • Hanging leg raise
  • Dumbbell bench
  • Overhead squat

Sunday

  • Cleans
  • Pull-ups
  • Dumbbell snatches
  • Glute ham raises

Tomorrow I’m doing some power work, then it’s back to the physio on Monday for him to give me the all-clear to do BJJ again on Monday.

Leave a Reply

