Chinese Pork Spare Ribs

29 Dec

This is the one Chinese dish I can make that makes me sit back and think “damn, this is restaurant quality!” And just like my other favourite recipes it’s a combination of delicious and ridiculously simple. It’s even easier if you’re lazy like me, and get your butcher to chop the spare ribs for you.

Since I started eating better I don’t make this as often as I used to – it used to be in my weekly rotation but now it’s just an occasional treat. I used to have it with jasmine rice, then swapped to quinoa, and now I just add an extra serve of choy sum.

I found the recipe from a food blog that sadly is no longer updated.

Ingredients

  • 1 kg pork spare ribs (I use 1 strip of the ribs they sell at the butcher, which usually works out to about 300-500g)
  • 5 cloves of fat garlic – chopped
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp Shao Xing rice wine
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1 tsp 5 spice powder
Method
  1. Marinate pork with all the ingredients and marinate in the fridge for at least an hour.
  2. Preheat oven to 200C.
  3. Line tray with a layer of foil and line marinated ribs on top. Reserve garlic and marinade for later. Bake 20 minutes.
  4. Turn the ribs around and baste with marinade. Bake another 20 minutes.
  5. Turn the ribs again and baste with marinade. Place garlic on top of the ribs and bake an extra 5 minutes.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
500g ribs (about 2 or 3 serves): 1483 calories, 73% fat, 21% protein, 2% carbs, 4% alcohol
2 Responses to “Chinese Pork Spare Ribs”

  1. Cat December 30, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    You should try this slow braised pork hock recipe too:
    http://www.thetasteoforegon.com/2010/09/27/pork-hocks-slow-braised-in-sweet-dark-soy-sauce-and-star-anise/

    Changes I made (cos I wanted to cook it in the slow cooker instead to make it even easier)
    – Used 2 of the BIG pork hocks (without trotters) from an asian butcher, got them to cut it up into pieces. I originally got 3 of them, but realised that it was a LOT OF MEAT :O
    – Halved the amount of water and other liquids. I put these to boil on the stove top before adding to the slow cooker. Taste it to make sure it’s salty enough. If not, add more dark soy sauce.
    – Coat the pork hocks in a wok as directed, then throw everything except the eggs in the slow cooker, pour over the liquid, cook on high for 6 hours or so. It was so incredibly tasty (especially the fat – very silky!)
    – I didn’t do the dipping sauce either – just served the pork over rice with some choy sum.

  2. pamperedhousewife December 30, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Ooh yes I remember you talking about these! I will add them to my list of things to make!

Leave a Reply

