The Barefoot Contessa’s Curried Couscous

13 Dec

I finally got around to using one of my new cookbooks. The other night I spent a couple of hours going through them all, tearing little bits of scrap paper to use as bookmarks for dishes that I want to make. I’m a bit intimidated by Momofuku, but the Barefoot Contessa cookbook has a lot of lovely, accessible recipes. The first one I tried was the curried couscous.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups couscous
  • 1 TBSP unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • 1/4 cup plain yoghurt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar (which I didn’t have, so I used red wine vinegar)
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 cup grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup parsley
  • 1/2 cup dried currants
  • 1/4 cup blanched, sliced almonds (I left these out)
  • 2 spring onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup died red onion

Method

  1. Place the couscous in a medium bowl. Melt the butter in the boiling water and pour over the couscous. Cover tightly and allow it to soak for 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork.
  2. Whisk together the yoghurt, olive oil, vinegar, curry, turmeric, salt and pepper. Pour over the couscous and mix well with a fork.
  3. Add the carrots, parsley, currants, almonds, spring onions and red onion.
  4. Mix well and adjust to taste.

Next time I think I’ll add some more currants (I actually used sultanas – are they the same thing?) since I kept looking forward to bites with sultanas in them. The book recommends serving with chicken or lamb.

The couscous was so flavoursome that it almost made the lamb seem bland (which it wasn’t – my lamb is salty and delicious). I think next time I will have it with chicken breasts and a vegetable side, just to improve the macro breakdown. It’s a great dish to take to a picnic or barbecue since it’s served at room temperature.

It’s colourful too – I bet it would look ever so pretty next to some sausages.

 

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve: 307 calories, 39% fat, 8% protein, 53% carbs

3 Responses to “The Barefoot Contessa’s Curried Couscous”

  1. Tes December 14, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    Your couscous looks amazing and sounds healthy. It also seems flavourful and delicious. I think I need to try this recipe 🙂

    • pamperedhousewife December 14, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

      You should definitely try it! The best part is that you can adapt it to whatever you currently have in the kitchen. =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Better Eating Starts Today! « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - January 4, 2011

    […] time I eat the first mouthful of The Barefoot Contessa’s curried couscous, I am reminded of how tasty it is, and inhale the […]

Leave a Reply

