Nigella Lawson’s Sweet and Salty Crunchie Nut Bars

11 Dec

I don’t think you can get much easier than the recipe for Nigella’s sweet and salty crunchy nut bars. There is the barest hint of cooking, but everything else is just assembly. It’s pretty tasty for the effort, but in my humble opinion, not as tasty as the chocolate, caramel and peanut slice that I’ve made before. This is a bit too densely chocolatey for me, though James seems very fond of it.

Still, James eats a lot of weird stuff – the other day he put some Indian spiced nuts (the packet says Hot Party Mix) into his yoghurt for breakfast. I’m sure it must have tasted foul – he even made a face when he took his first bite … but then he kept eating! Not that I think this slice is in any way equivalent to James’ Hot Party Mix Yoghurt. I’m just saying. He’ll eat anything. Like a labrador.

I misread the golden syrup and only included 1 TBSP (instead of 3) but it seems fine like that. Like most other chocolate and nut concoctions, this one is ugly and unphotogenic. I used a 26cm springform cake tin but you could use any container you wanted.

Ingredients

  • 200g dark chocolate
  • 100g milk chocolate
  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 1 TBSP golden syrup (original recipe specifies 3 TBSP)
  • 250g salted peanuts
  • 4 x 40g Crunchie bars

Method

  1. Line cake tin with foil. Break chocolate into pieces, and drop into a heavy-based saucepan. Add the butter and syrup, put on a low heat, and melt gently together.
  2. Tip the peanuts into a bowl, and crush the Crunchie bars with your hands.
  3. Take the melted chocolate mixture off the heat and stir in the peanuts and crushed Crunchie bars, then tip straight into the cake tin or foil tray. Smooth the top of the mixture as much as you can.
  4. Put into the fridge for about 4 hours and, once set, cut into slices as desired.

It’s supposed to serve 24 but I reckon it would serve more because it’s pretty rich. The recipe is pretty flexible, and you can change the ratio of dark to milk chocolate and play around with the fillings. If you wanted you could add some Hot Party Mix, but then you would be weird.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 slice: 206 calories, 69% fat, 8% protein, 24% carbs

10 Responses to “Nigella Lawson’s Sweet and Salty Crunchie Nut Bars”

  1. xguard December 12, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    This is insane, you actually go through that much trouble to cook? I rather do dishes and clean up. Cooking is one big effort.

  2. Ophelia February 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    AMAZING! I ate the whole thing in three days!!!!!! Love them.

  3. Naomi August 22, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    I just love this recipe, I have made it a few times 🙂

    • pamperedhousewife August 22, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Yes I’ve noticed this one gets a few hits. Glad you enjoyed it!

  4. jeannie d March 9, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    absoluely gorgeous.i put pounds on just making it.

  5. Melissa November 2, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    Made this for the boys in the office, they LOVED IT! My go to recipe for bribery when I need them to do something now. This is the best form of currency 🙂 Thank you

    • pamperedhousewife November 2, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

      Ha awesome! I seem to be the only one who doesn’t love this recipe but I’m glad it’s working for other people. =D

Leave a Reply

