Easy Massaman Beef Curry

24 Nov

I love meals where you chuck everything in a big pot and then leave it for a few hours. The only downside is that having the stove on for several hours can heat up the apartment, which wasn’t the best, since it was 33 degrees and we face west, but I it was a small price to pay.

I wanted something easy, and this recipe from Taste had a lot of good reviews. Based on the comments I omitted the coconut cream, and I also cut out the potatoes. Boo to empty starches! I think next time I’ll try adding more meat and leaving out the peanuts since I didn’t think they added that much. That’s nitpicking a bit though, because honestly, this was fantastic.

I also think I’ll double the recipe next time. This recipe makes enough for 3 or 4, and it would be good to have some extra leftovers to freeze.

Look at the curry bubbling away!

I thickened it with a cornflour and water slurry about 30 minutes before it was done. I was quite proud that I remembered – normally I forget until the end and then I’m too hungry to wait the extra time.

I had a crisper drawer full of broccoli (it was $1 for 2kg at the Vic Market – tell me you wouldn’t have done the same!) so I cooked some of that and served it all with a small side of quinoa. I can always tell when James likes a new meal because he goes and gets seconds even though he’s full.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 650g chuck steak
  • 3 tablespoons massaman curry paste
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup unsalted roasted peanuts
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 5 cardamom pods, lightly crushed
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon tamarind concentrate
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce

Method

  1. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat until hot. Add beef. Cook, stirring constantly, until evenly browned. Transfer to a plate. Add 2 tablespoons coconut milk to pan. Cook over medium heat for 20 seconds or until hot. Add curry paste. Cook for 1 minute or until aromatic.
  2. Return beef and juices to pan. Add stock, peanuts, cinnamon stick, bay leaves, cardamom pods, sugar, tamarind concentrate, fish sauce and remaining coconut milk. Stir to combine.
  3. Reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 2 or 3 hours or until beef is tender. Serve with rice.

     

    Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
    1 serve: 649 calories, 64% fat, 27% protein, 9% carbs

 

Leave a Reply

