Blueberry muffins to die for

22 Nov

Me: Do you want a blueberry muffin? They’re really good!
Howie: (doubtfully) Maybe just half
*Howie eats half-muffin*
Howie: … can I have the other half?

It’s the crumb topping that makes this. The big, fat, juicy blueberries in it don’t hurt either. Woolworths had blueberries on sale ($3 a punnet – even cheaper than the Vic Market) so I bought 5 and in celebration I decided to make blueberry muffins.

This is my go-to muffin recipe. I get 7 jumbo muffins from it – the kind with the gloriously domed tops that you get at cafes. And the blueberries are generously scattered throughout, so it’s not like those store-bought muffins where you break them open and are like “oh look, I got a single blueberry”.

I sometimes make a double batch of muffins because the recipe makes twice as much crumb topping as needed. Other times I just halve the crumb topping.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup plain flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees C. Line tine with muffin liners.
  2. Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.
  3. To Make Crumb Topping: Mix together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix with fork, and sprinkle over muffins before baking.
  4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.


Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 muffin: 405 calories, 35% fat, 5% protein, 60% carbs

5 Responses to “Blueberry muffins to die for”

  1. Tes November 22, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    I love blueberry muffin… I just love the way yours have the sugar on top 🙂

    • pamperedhousewife November 23, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      I do it with banana muffins too – heavenly!

      • Kaylene November 30, 2010 at 9:16 am #

        I’ve made these before! AGES ago!! they’re absolutely AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!! Maybe I’ll make ’em again soon =]

      • pamperedhousewife November 30, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

        You should! I always forget how much I love these muffins, and when I make them again I’m all like omnomnomnom!

  2. Jane March 24, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    Awesome recipe, They look so yummy. Thanks for sharing!

    Here is another nice recipe which kids will enjoy making.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/recipes/blueberry-muffin-recipe/

    Jane

Leave a Reply

