Oh Book Depository, how you lure me in …

16 Nov

You know how I wanted Momofuku and Bourke Street Bakery? Well Book Depository is offering 10% off vouchers, so that pretty much made the decision for me.

Except I ended up buying 5 books in total. /shameface

In preparation for my Book Depository purchase I was looking up cookbook reviews, and I told James about a couple of them. Some reviews complained that Momofuku had too much swearing in it, and also a review for Barefoot Contessa: How Easy Is That? pointed out that there were some unrealistic suggestions in the book, such as owning two dishwashers. But anyway, I told James I was going to buy some books:

James: Oh yeah. The book about swearing at two dishwashers.
Kaye: You’ve conflated the reviews for two different books.
James: Conflated isn’t even a real word!
Kaye: Yes it is. It means to combine.
James: I find it highly unlikely there would be two words for “combine”.

Anyway, here are the books I ended up buying.

image from Book Depository

image from Book Depository

image from Book Depository

image from Book Depository

image from Book Depository

After the discount it came to $136.53 for the lot. Hopefully they will keep me occupied for awhile.

3 Responses to “Oh Book Depository, how you lure me in …”

  1. Ormi November 17, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    I can’t believe James didn’t believe ‘conflated’ is a real word! I’m pretty sure I’ve used it several times in conversation with you guys at the gym 😛

    • pamperedhousewife November 17, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

      I’m pretty sure I’ve used it several times in his presence too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Barefoot Contessa’s Curried Couscous « Diary of a Pampered Housewife - December 13, 2010

    […] Dec I finally got around to using one of my new cookbooks. The other night I spent a couple of hours going through them all, tearing little bits of scrap […]

Leave a Reply

