Cousin Christmas

10 Nov

The time of year where the weather warms up, stores bring out their decorations, and I start thinking about Christmas. I love Christmas. I love the carols, the food, and the constant sales. I love going to the Vic Market and buying oysters (which always sell out early) and strawberries for Christmas lunch. I love lazy afternoons at the beach, and turkey sandwiches for Christmas dinner.

And presents. Oh how I love presents!

This card from Etsy seller Sycamore Street Press makes me smile. Actually I like a whole bunch of their cards, but this one is Christmas-themed.

image from Sycamore Street Press

Every year my cousins and I do a Kris Kringle. It’s so much fun seeing what everyone buys for each other. Everyone has their own lives now, and partners/jobs to take up their time, but on Christmas Eve it’s like nothing has changed. We get together for dinner, everyone plays mahjong, and we laugh and talk all night.

Cat and I are exchanging gifts for the first time this year. I have a couple of things in mind for her, which I would totally post, except I know she reads this blog (hi Cat!)

My family celebrates on Christmas Eve and James’ family celebrates on Christmas Day, so I get two Christmases! James’ mum goes all-out for lunch and we have smoked salmon, olive bread, sometimes ham, sometimes turkey with stuffing, but always Christmas pudding with brandy butter. Since James’ parents have sold their East Malvern house we’ll be having the holiday at Shoreham for the first time. It’s good for beach proximity, but it does mean there will be a 1.5 hour drive after Cousin Christmas. James hasn’t decided whether he wants to chug a Red Bull and drive straight down, or whether he’d prefer to make the trip in the morning. We’ll see how we go on the night.

James might be starting at his new job earlier than anticipated, so he’s trying to get all his shopping done early. He has ordered me to start thinking about what I want for Christmas – such are the burdens of being a pampered housewife.

3 Responses to “Cousin Christmas”

  1. Cat November 10, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    oh hai there! /sneaks away

    I have 2 character design books in mind for Scott. I want to scoot over to Borders to see if they have them so I can flick through before committing though.

  2. Top Ten Christmas Gifts November 15, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    Wow.! good article. I like it. That is a good ideas.

Leave a Reply

