Easy Peasy Guacamole

8 Nov

In general I’m a bit leery about avocados. They’re nutritious and yummy, but very calorie-dense so I try to limit my consumption. Most of the time when I have avocado it’s in guacamole (the other time is when it’s on rye bread, slathered with dijon mustard).

This is my favourite guacamole recipe. It’s quick, easy, and uses a lot of coriander. More coriander is always a good thing. Allrecipes says it serves 4 (which is the amount I used for the nutritional guide), but I use less for burritos. This batch makes enough for about 10 generous burrito serves.

Guacamole recipe

  • 3 avocados – peeled, pitted and mashed
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup diced onion (I sometimes omit this, depending on how I feel)
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh coriander
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 pinch ground cayenne pepper (optional)

Method

  1. In a medium bowl, mash together the avocados, lime juice, and salt. Mix in onion, coriander, tomatoes, and garlic. Stir in cayenne pepper. Refrigerate 1 hour for best flavor, or serve immediately.

 

Very Rough Nutritional Guide
1  serve: 267 calories, 90% fat, 5% protein, 5% carbs

Leave a Reply

