Pork and fennel sausage rolls

25 Oct

On the weekend I made the sausage rolls from Bourke Street Bakery! Even though I don’t have the book (yet!) there were some food blogs that had the recipe so I was able to cobble something together. The most tedious part was definitely chopping the vegetables – I think next time I’ll either grate them or chuck them in the food processor to save on time.

The recipe made 12 sausage rolls. I’d say about 2 rolls plus salad would be a pretty filling dinner. I made a half batch and gave James 4 sausage rolls and had 2 for myself, and James made himself sick trying to finish it. I swear, he’s like a labrador. It’s very sweet though – sometimes he’ll be all like “I’m really full but I still want more because it’s tasty”. But then other times he’s all like:

James: *clutches his stomach and moans*
Kaye: are you OK?
James: *moans some more* I ate too much!
Kaye: poor fish. I can’t help but feel partially responsible.
James: *glares* What do you mean, partially?

The aftermath of the sausage rolls was less sweet-compliment and more unfairly-blaming-the-tinychef-even-though-she’s-only-ever-been-good-to-you. =P But anyway, the sausage rolls were packed with flavour and totally awesome. I normally find pork very bland, so I was happy that there was some fennel to liven it up.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 TBSP olive oil
  • 6 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 3 1/2 TBSP fennel seeds (apparently you’re supposed to chop these but I didn’t bother)
  • 4 thyme sprigs, leaves picked
  • 150g brown onion (about 1 medium), finely chopped
  • 150g celery (about 6 stalks), finely chopped
  • 150g carrots (about 1 medium), finely chopped
  • 1.2kg pork mince
  • 40g breadcrumbs
  • 1 TBSP salt
  • 3 tsp white pepper
  • Puff pastry (5 or 6 sheets)
  • Egg wash (1 egg and 1/4 cup of milk) for brushing
  • Fennel seeds for sprinkling

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 190C.
  2. Heat oil in pan over medium heat
  3. Add garlic and cook for about 30 seconds. Add fennel and thyme and cook until aromatic, about 1 minute. Add onion and celery and cook until the onion softens, about 5 minutes. Add carrots and cook 30 minutes until soft.
  4. Remove vegetable mixture from heat and combine with pork mince, breadcrumbs, salt and pepper. Combine well.
  5. Divide mixture unto 6 even portions and wrap with puff pastry. Cut sausage rolls in half. Brush the tops with egg wash and sprinkle fennel seeds on top.
  6. Bake 40 minutes.

 

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
2 sausage rolls: 1168 calories,  52% fat, 18% protein, 29% carbs

Leave a Reply

