Homemade Muesli

22 Oct

Most days I prefer to eat simple breakfasts. I’ve just woken up and I’m not really in a cooking mood, so I like to grab some yoghurt or fruit. Some days I plan ahead and have a batch of steel cut oats waiting in the fridge, and other days I have this.

I was inspired to make muesli because James has just started training for next year’s Melbourne Marathon. He’s doing several short (5-6km) runs a week plus gym, and he needs carbs for recovery. And also, this muesli is freaking delicious. It’s nutty and toasted, with bursts of sweetness from the dried fruit. It’s very calorie-dense because of all the nuts, but I find that a serve with a dollop of greek yoghurt will tide me over until my morning snack.

I love that this makes a huge batch so I just need to set aside an hour or so in the afternoon, and I have breakfast for the next couple of weeks. The recipe is adapted from Megan’s Granola on Allrecipes. I’ve added the gram measurements that I use too, because I find it easier to weigh everything. You can be pretty loose with the measurements, so if I feel like extra fruit or nuts I’ll add those. This time I didn’t have enough walnuts so I substituted some cashews.

Ingredients

  • 8 cups (650g) rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups (170g) wheat germ
  • 1 1/2 cups (140g) oat bran
  • 1 cup (145g) sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup (140g) finely chopped almonds
  • 1 cup (120g) finely chopped pecans
  • 1 cup (120g) finely chopped walnuts
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil (pro tip: measure the oil first, so the maple syrup and honey won’t stick to the measuring cup)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups (200g) golden raisins
  • 1 cup (150g) sweetened dried cranberries

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 165C (325F). Line two large baking sheets with parchment or aluminum foil, or just use an unlined large dutch oven like I did.
  2. Combine the oats, wheat germ, oat bran, sunflower seeds, almonds, pecans, and walnuts in a large bowl. Stir together the salt, brown sugar, maple syrup, honey, oil, cinnamon, and vanilla in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, then pour over the dry ingredients, and stir to coat. Dump the mixture in the dutch oven.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until crispy and toasted, about 20 minutes. Stir halfway through. Cool, then stir in the dried fruit before storing in an airtight container.

Very Rough Nutritional Guide:
1 serve (about 62g from memory): 396 calories, 49% fat, 9% protein, 42% carbs

Leave a Reply

