Pear, Proscuitto and Goat Cheese Pizza

20 Oct

Remember the 00 flour I bought from Mediterranean Wholesalers?

I had to look up a recipe that specified 00 flour because I’ve read that it absorbs water better than plain flour. I slightly adapted mine from this Food Network recipe – the only change in the ingredients was using olive oil instead of EVOO, but I was pretty slack with the method.

The recipe said it would make 3 pizzas, though I only got 2 thin (albeit quite large) pizzas out of it. The first batch was incredibly hard to roll out – it kept tearing and shrinking, and I had to keep patching up holes with other bits of dough, and it was a bit frankensteiny when I finished with it. I think either I didn’t knead it enough or I didn’t give it enough time to warm up from the fridge. The second batch was perfect – it had a couple of extra days to rise in the fridge and I brought it to room temperature for the final rise.

Dough Ingredients

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 TBSP salt
  • Olive oil
  • 3 cups 00 flour, plus more for dusting

Method

  1. Combine the yeast, sugar and warm water in a big bowl. Stir gently to dissolve and let stand about 10 minutes (yeast should be foaming)
  2. Add salt and 2 TBSP of olive oil. Dump in the flour and knead, knead, knead. I just knead in the bowl to avoid having to flour a surface. If the dough is crumbly, add more water and if it’s sticky, add more flour. Knead until the dough is smooth and elastic.
  3. Lightly oil the kneading bowl and put your dough inside. Cover with glad wrap. If you have a few days, let it slow-rise in the fridge for maximum flavour, but otherwise let it rise in a warm spot until it has doubled in size.

The oven was heated as high as it would go and I baked the crust for a couple of minutes, then topped it with caramelised onions, beurre bosc pears (cooked quickly on the stovetop – in the remainder of the caramelised onions), soft goat cheese, proscuitto and a handful of walnuts. Baked it for another 5 minutes or so, and it was perfect.

Leave a Reply

