Weber Baby Q

18 Oct

Even though James and I aren’t really big barbecuers, I’ve wanted a Weber Q for ages. But recently I’ve noticed myself using the cast iron griddle a lot more, and with Summer approaching, I want a cooking method that doesn’t involve heating up the whole apartment with the stove, oven or slow cooker. So after our shopping expedition to Mediterranean Wholesalers we jumped back in the car and headed to Barbecues Plus in Ascot Vale.

Originally I was the only one gung-ho about the barbecue. James only bought it because “I don’t like saying no to you”. Aww! Though now that I’m aware I have this superpower, I must be more careful about the things I cavalierly ask for (like a horse). But I think once I start to cook burgers and steak on it, James will be won over. I have a backlog of barbecue recipes that I bookmarked ages ago, because I knew this day would come!

That’s the Weber on my dirt-clumped balcony. For its maiden voyage James grilled some chicken breasts, which I then used to make a chicken, mango and chilli salad with palm sugar dressing.

I’d originally wanted the Q220, which is the medium size, but the Q120 was a lot bigger than I had thought, and 99% of the time it will just be me and James. The actual barbecue was cheap ($349) but the side tables, tools, gas bottle, cart, roasting trivet and hot plate pretty much doubled the price. But I have to say that I’m pretty impressed so far; everything was easy to assemble, and the chicken cooked perfectly – 4 minutes each side with the lid down. I’m looking forward to experimenting more – the Vic Market has started getting asparagus, and I’m having visions of a medium rare Angus rib-eye with grilled asparagus and mushrooms. But that will have to come after the burgers I’m planning for this Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

