Skillet Diner

1 Jul

Skillet Diner
1400 E Union St, Seattle

IMG_3779

I’ve been meaning to go to Skillet Diner for ages, and last Friday James and I were in an eating out mood. It was Pride Weekend, so the whole neighborhood was celebrating and rainbowed up.

We arrived about 20 minutes early for our reservation but there was room so they seated us straight away.

We ordered cocktails to start – I had a Brunch 75 ($9) with vodka, st. germain, prosecco and grapefruit juice and James ordered a Smoky Paloma ($10) which was basically a grapefruity margarita. Later in the meal he ordered a Basically a Fancy Old Fashioned ($9) which used jicama-infused whiskey. They came in cute, teeny tiny hipster Mason jars.

IMG_3780

I had the ultimate grilled cheese ($11) with bacon jam ($2) and fried chicken ($5) and a side of poutine ($3). I could have gotten a side salad instead but I prefer the “heart attack on a plate” look.

IMG_3782

The poutine was crazy dense. It was also only a bit above room temperature, so even though it was tasty the combination of lukewarm-ness and sliminess was a bit off-putting. I probably would get fries next time.

The grilled cheese was amazing! Perfectly browned and I loved the combination of the cheese, bacon jam and chicken thigh. I ate half the sandwich and maybe a third of the poutine. James polished off the poutine and I took the rest of my grilled cheese home for breakfast the next day.

James ordered the special of the day – Denver lamb ribs – juniper coriander crust, yuzu marmalade, adobo marinated grilled pineapple, grilled corn, frisee, english peas and charred spring onions ($29).

IMG_3783

It came in a skillet (“how eponymous!” James might say).

The meat was super tender and had a really interesting flavour. I think James particularly liked the marmalade, which added a touch of sweetness and wasn’t nearly as marmalade-y as you’d expect. It’s exactly the sort of meal I love ordering at restaurants – delicious with PITA flavour combinations that you would never consider making at home. Definitely worth ordering!

We were super full at this stage – and remember that I’d only managed about half my meal. But when we eat out I always want to have dessert! James ordered the doughnut holes ($6).

IMG_3785

They were light, warm and fresh. Also way more massive than he had anticipated.

There were a lot of awesome-looking desserts but because I was so full I ordered what looked like the lightest option – the cheesecake in a jar ($6)

IMG_3784

It was nice but not outstanding; I’ve definitely had better cheesecakes. The strawberry layer was a bit too gelatin-y and I think it suffered from not having the usual ratio of topping to cheesecake.

James definitely got the best of the ordering competition that night, but overall we were both really pleased with the meal. There were multiple menu items that I wouldn’t mind going back to try – namely the boozy shakes, some of the fried desserts and the fried chicken.

The walk home initially started as a waddle, but the food wasn’t heavy in our stomachs for long – impressive given their fried-ness. I was expecting to feel way worse afterwards. Perhaps it’s because we were in a good mood but we both agreed that Skillet Diner was one of the best dining experiences we’ve had in Seattle. It’s one of the few places here that’s lived up to the hype for me (the others that come to mind are Paseo’s and Shiro’s) and I’d highly recommend it.
Skillet Diner on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

