Boring Fitness Update

2 May

I didn’t realise how much I’d been living with sore quads during winter. At the end of the snow season I spent 2 hours foam rolling my legs, another 1.5 hours later that week and I still felt like I could have done with more. Next season I’m going to be more proactive about foam rolling every week and see if that makes a difference.

With the end of the snow season I’ve had to add some cardio to my fitness routine lest I become tragically lopsided. So now I’m at:

Yoga 1-2x a week
Weights 2x a week
Hill Sprints 2x a week

Gym-wise I’m (very slowly) going up in everything except squats. Due to a combination of bulged disc, inconsistent gym and regular snowboarding I’ve dropped over 10kg from my max. =( Doing reps of 5 I’m at 130% bw for deads, 70% bw for bench and 105% bw for squat. On the plus side I’m starting to do pull-ups and weighted chin-ups (1kg! Woo!) again.

And ooh! This is my new favourite gym top:

ribs-knock-out-top-pre-sale-1369790997_1024x1024

image from Blackmilk Clothing

I get so many compliments on it. The top says to handwash but there’s no way that was going to happen. I just chuck it in the wash on a cold, gentle cycle and hang to dry. It hasn’t exploded yet.

My favourite change this year has been getting regular massages. Because of my shitty back and neck I got a massage prescription, which seems to be how you get insurance to cover most of the cost. Like seriously, I’m paying $5 (plus tip) out of pocket. That’s insane!

I’ve also been doing a lot of green smoothies for breakfast just to make sure I get my daily quota of vegies. My current go-to mix is frozen kale, baby spinach, almonds, ginger, frozen pineapple, frozen banana and chia seeds with enough water to make it blend. Sometimes I get fancy and have some homemade almond or coconut milk ready to use.

It pretty much always looks like this.

photo (6)Now the sun is out later and the weather has gotten warmer (it was 31C yesterday!) maybe James and I will start running after work again. We’ll see. I think I’m feeling energetic because I just drank a green smoothie and now I’m cold and full of vitamins.

4 Responses to “Boring Fitness Update”

  1. Erika May 3, 2014 at 9:55 am #

    Love the tank top. It is sooo cute.

  2. Jess May 22, 2014 at 1:39 am #

    I just stumbled across this blog and I loved it!

    I’m actually doing a paper on Trader Joe’s and somehow your blog came up in my google search (when you discusses the differences between Melbourne and Seattle) and then I noticed in your tags that you tagged BJJ and I thought I was seeing things!!

    I’ve been training for a few years now, have you found a gym in Seattle?? I could probably just sit here and read all your BJJ related posts to find that out but I really have to focus on finishing this paper /:

    Keep posting!

    • pamperedhousewife May 22, 2014 at 5:49 pm #

      Heya!

      Ooh a paper on Trader Joe’s … sounds tasty. =D

      I actually stopped doing BJJ when I moved to Seattle. I primarily did it for fitness/social reasons, and I didn’t have the drive to compete and continually improve that my teammates did. So when I moved here I didn’t want to deal with a gym of unknowns and possibly super expensive healthcare costs if I got injured (which happened more often than I would have liked).

      It turned out that James was relieved that I was no longer rolling with new, spazzy guys – and realizing that he’d always been secretly super-worried was kind of the final nail in the No More BJJ coffin.

      I do miss it – I lost heaps of weight doing it and made a lot of great friends.

      Good luck with your paper! =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

