Just A Boring Update

14 Nov

James picked up one of these when Amazon re-stocked on launch day:

image from Amazon

He even forked out for 1-day shipping so he could get it in time for the weekend. Until then he’ll be playing the new X-Com expansion. He plays in iron man mode where you can’t reload and always names his most promising female character after me – he gave me a medal to prevent me from panicking (“Kyoto’s Medal of Bravery”). He also gave himself a sniper medal (“Mouse’s Cross-Furs”), which totally makes me smirk cos it reminds me of his fake cat-themed golf game, Putt Putt Purr.

Also I’m conscious that I haven’t been doing a lot of blog updating! I’ve been writing a lot and also trying a lot of new recipes. Last night I made a salad with pomegranate seeds (de-seeding the pomegranate made me look like I’d been in a knife fight). This week I also marinated some pork shoulder to make lechon asado for a bastardised cuban sandwich.

(I took a bite before I remembered to take a photo) I had to juice so many frigging lemons, limes and oranges for the marinade that tomorrow I’m going to buy some more pork and re-use it. If there are no more blog updates I have died from salmonella.

Hmm, what else is new? I got my hair cut really short for the first time like … ever! Here is a quick photo I took in my bum clothes for Cat when she wanted to see my new hair – sorry about the crazy-eyes, I always feel awkward looking straight into the iPhone camera:

I think it will look super cute with winter scarves and now I don’t need to do plaited pigtails when I go snowboarding. 

Speaking of snowboarding, I’m optimistic that the Washington season will start before Thanksgiving. James has temporarily given up running so his knee will be in good shape, but that dedication is nothing compared to Mike, who traded in his car for a more snow-friendly model.

It feels like the year has gone by so fast. It’s been getting dark really early now – the sun sets at 4:30pm! We’re definitely getting into stew and soup weather. James has been working longer than usual hours in the ramp-up to Christmas. Oh, and he got promoted to team lead. =) He’s also been doing a lot of interview loops to try and get priority for international recruiting trips (goal: Australia!)

We’ve both been super busy and I’m sure it’s just going to get even more jam-packed when snowboard season starts. Who am I kidding – it’s going to start this weekend once the PS4 arrives. =)

 

6 Responses to “Just A Boring Update”

  1. Andy Kohn November 16, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Hey, is it possible to get your email address to ask you some questions? :)

  2. Kaylene November 17, 2013 at 1:30 am #

    Hey Kaye!
    Awesome haircut, really cute =] Yea, I know all about the tying the hair in plaited pigtails for snowboarding!! Otherwise you end up eating it! By the way, you look SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much like your dad!!!!! =]

    • pamperedhousewife November 17, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks Klene! =D

      Also we’re going snowboarding today! Not all the chairlifts are open but a few of us thought we’d head up for a half day to see if we remember how to do it. =P

  3. Wen November 17, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    Nice haircut Kaye!! I really like it! :-) it’s always fun to have some changes, plus you can always grow your hair back …..

    • pamperedhousewife November 18, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      Thanks Wen! =D Yeah, whenever my hairdresser wants to try something new I always figure even if I hate it my hair will grow back eventually so I might as well try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

