The Vitamix 7500 is GLORIOUS + That Thai Soup Recipe from the Vitamix Demonstration

7 Nov

You might recall that I wanted one of these back in Australia. At the time they were charging $895 for the 5200 model but here in the US it’s $529 (plus tax) for the newer 7500 model. Which admittedly is still crazy expensive for a blender but I’ve wanted one of these for aaaages.

The 7500 model is a little quieter than the 5200, supposedly more powerful, but the main reason I wanted it was because it’s shorter and fits under the kitchen cabinets.

Image from Vitamix

Every recipe that I’ve tried from the Vitamix cookbook has been crap. Admittedly it’s only been 3 recipes but when I’m 0 for 3 it doesn’t really make me inclined to try again. It really does just destroy everything I put in there though – I think even James was impressed. The recipe I really wanted though, was one they didn’t include – the Thai soup that they made at the demonstration.

I scoured the internet and found a bunch of people lamenting that they also wanted the Thai soup recipe and eventually saw that Vitamix UK had posted it on their facebook page.

Ingredient:

  • 500 ml water
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/2 stalk celery
  • 1/4 yellow bell pepper with stem and seeds
  • 1/4 zucchini
  • 1 spring onion
  • 1 slice cabbage
  • 1/4 apple
  • 1/3 clove garlic
  • 1 small slice chili pepper
  • 1 TBSP honey
  • 1 1/2cm ginger*
  • 1 handful coriander*
  • 2 handfuls unsalted cashew nuts*
  • less than 1cm slice of lemon with skin*
  • 1 1/2 vegetable stock cubes*
  • 1/4 zucchini, reserved

* items which affect the flavour of the soup. If any ratios need to be adjusted it’s most likely with these ingredients

Method:

  1. Place all ingredients, except 1/4 courgette, in Vitamix container in order listed. Secure 2-part lid.
  2. Select VARIABLE, speed #1. Turn machine ON and quickly increase speed to #10; then to HIGH. Run for 6 minutes or until steam escapes through the lid plug opening.
  3. Reduce to VARIABLE, speed #2. Remove lid plug and add the reserved 1/4 courgette through the lid opening and run for an additional 5 seconds. This will add texture to the soup.

I actually round up a lot of the ingredients – I use 1 stalk of celery, 1/2 a bell pepper, the whole zucchini (omitting the zucchini step at the end cos I thought it was fiddly and didn’t add much), 1/2 apple and 1 clove of garlic.

It looks like this before blending (after blending it is basically green soup). Sooo many vegies!
I made this soup for my parents when they were over and my dad freaking loved it. He was so impressed at how it cooked in the blender and said it was really delicious. He referred to it as “that tasty soup” and kept asking me to make it for him to the point where I think mum was quite sick of it. And when he and mum went back to Australia they bought a Vitamix (also a Roomba lol).

It’s probably not a MUST buy like the Roomba but I like having it around for making smoothies and soups and it gets a minimum of 2 uses a week. I’ve also been using it to chop cabbage and carrot for coleslaw. In the past I considered getting one of those premix coleslaw bags but when I picked up the bag in the supermarket and saw how little cabbage and carrot you got in there for the price I couldn’t bring myself to buy it (and yes I realise how stupid that sounds after having spent $550+ for a blender).

8 Responses to “The Vitamix 7500 is GLORIOUS + That Thai Soup Recipe from the Vitamix Demonstration”

  1. Katie December 6, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    Thanks for this! I also watched that demo and loved it. I want vegetable soup recipes where I can just put everything in the vitamix, not have to fry onions first etc. This is the only recipe I have been able to find so far!!

    • pamperedhousewife December 6, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

      I also don’t like the fiddly recipes, so glad to have helped! =)

  2. Lesley McGinn February 19, 2014 at 3:43 am #

    I’m a new vitamix owner and having real problems making a palatable soup from raw. Currently feeling a bit despondent as The demo was all about making from raw and all receipes seem to need cooking. Doing ok with smoothies though.

    • pamperedhousewife February 19, 2014 at 3:20 pm #

      Yeah there aren’t too many recipes where you cook the soup inside the blender. I make this one 1-2x a week though, so I feel like I’m getting my money’s worth!

  3. Chloe March 3, 2014 at 11:43 am #

    This is brilliant, thank you. My husband and I have been looking everywhere for this receipe. It tastes delicious!

  4. Sarah April 8, 2014 at 10:05 am #

    Thanks so much for this recipe I gave it a try and I love it :) tasted delicious x

    • pamperedhousewife April 8, 2014 at 11:35 am #

      Glad you liked it! It’s a great way to get a huge dose of vegetables isn’t it? =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

